You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search

The Phone Box at the Edge of the World: A moving story of grief, love and hope for fans of The Beekeeper of Aleppo

ISBN: 9781786580412
€12.00
€12.15
Then she finds Takeshi, a bereaved husband whose own daughter has stopped talking in the wake of their loss. What happens next will warm your heart, even when it feels as though it is breaking. For when you've lost everything - what can you find .
Availability: In Stock
+ -
48 Points

*A moving, unforgettable story, inspired by true events*

'Absolutely breathtaking' Christy Lefteri, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo.

We all have something to tell those we have lost . . .

On a windy hill in Japan, in a garden overlooking the sea stands a disused phone box. For years, people have travelled to visit the phone box, to pick up the receiver and speak into the wind: to pass their messages to loved ones no longer with us.

When Yui loses her mother and daughter in the tsunami, she is plunged into despair and wonders how she will ever carry on. One day she hears of the phone box, and decides to make her own pilgrimage there, to speak once more to the people she loved the most. But when you have lost everything, the right words can be the hardest thing to find . . .

Then she meets Takeshi, a bereaved husband whose own daughter has stopped talking in the wake of their loss. What happens next will warm your heart, even when it feels as though it is breaking . . .

The Phone Box at the Edge of the World is an unforgettable story of the depths of grief, the lightness of love and the human longing to keep the people who are no longer with us close to our hearts.

'A moving and uplifting anatomisation of grief and the small miraculous moments that persuade people to start looking forward again' Sunday Times

'Strangely beautiful, uplifting and memorable, it's a book to savour' Choice, Book of the Month

'A poignant, atmospheric novel dealing with love, coming to terms with loss and the restoration of one's self' Daily Mail

'A story about the dogged survival of hope when all else is lost . . . A striking haiku of the human heart' The Times

'Beautiful. A message of hope for anyone who is lost, frightened or grieving' Clare Mackintosh, Sunday Times bestselling author of After the End

'Incredibly moving. It will break your heart and soothe your soul' Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Familiars

'Mesmerising . . . beautiful . . . a joy to read' Joanna Glen, Costa shortlisted author of The Other Half of Augusta Hope

'Spare and poetic, this beautiful book is both a small, quiet love story and a vast expansive meditation on grieving and loss' Heat

'A perfect poignant read' Woman & Home

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

*A moving, unforgettable story, inspired by true events*

'Absolutely breathtaking' Christy Lefteri, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo.

We all have something to tell those we have lost . . .

On a windy hill in Japan, in a garden overlooking the sea stands a disused phone box. For years, people have travelled to visit the phone box, to pick up the receiver and speak into the wind: to pass their messages to loved ones no longer with us.

When Yui loses her mother and daughter in the tsunami, she is plunged into despair and wonders how she will ever carry on. One day she hears of the phone box, and decides to make her own pilgrimage there, to speak once more to the people she loved the most. But when you have lost everything, the right words can be the hardest thing to find . . .

Then she meets Takeshi, a bereaved husband whose own daughter has stopped talking in the wake of their loss. What happens next will warm your heart, even when it feels as though it is breaking . . .

The Phone Box at the Edge of the World is an unforgettable story of the depths of grief, the lightness of love and the human longing to keep the people who are no longer with us close to our hearts.

'A moving and uplifting anatomisation of grief and the small miraculous moments that persuade people to start looking forward again' Sunday Times

'Strangely beautiful, uplifting and memorable, it's a book to savour' Choice, Book of the Month

'A poignant, atmospheric novel dealing with love, coming to terms with loss and the restoration of one's self' Daily Mail

'A story about the dogged survival of hope when all else is lost . . . A striking haiku of the human heart' The Times

'Beautiful. A message of hope for anyone who is lost, frightened or grieving' Clare Mackintosh, Sunday Times bestselling author of After the End

'Incredibly moving. It will break your heart and soothe your soul' Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Familiars

'Mesmerising . . . beautiful . . . a joy to read' Joanna Glen, Costa shortlisted author of The Other Half of Augusta Hope

'Spare and poetic, this beautiful book is both a small, quiet love story and a vast expansive meditation on grieving and loss' Heat

'A perfect poignant read' Woman & Home

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Lincoln Highway

Availability: In Stock
The bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow and Rules of Civility and master of absorbing, sophisticated fiction returns with a stylish and propulsive novel set in 1950s America.
€14.99 €18.90

The Comfort Book

Availability: In Stock
Dubray Staff Recommended Read... ‘Thoughts and titbits for the hard days; a helium balloon for your heart.’ – Aoife, Grafton St. A hug in book form - the number one Sunday Times bestselling author of Reasons to Stay Alive rethinks the self-help book
€16.99 €20.25

'Twas the Night Before Christmas

Availability: In Stock
FREE collector's print with every copy (while stocks last). The classic Christmas verse in a gorgeous gift book from the highly acclaimed author and illustrator P.J. Lynch.
€14.99 €17.55

Sidetracked: Kurt Wallander

Availability: 10-12 Day Delivery
Midsummer approaches, and Inspector Kurt Wallander prepares for a holiday with the new woman in his life, hopeful that his wayward daughter and his ageing father will cope without him. But his restful summer plans are thrown into disarray when a teenage girl commits suicide before his eyes, and a former minister of justice is butchered.
€13.50