The Storm and Other Poems

Product information


Stock: In Stock

Our USPs

Dubray Rewards
Earn 52 Reward Points on this title
Free Delivery
Extended Range: Delivery 3-4 working days

The Storm and Other Poems

Product information

Author: George Mackay Brown


ISBN: 9781903385661

Date: 22nd October, 2017

Publisher: GALILEO

  1. Categories

  2. Poetry


The legendary poet of the Orkneys - who later became one of Scotland's most loved C20th poets - George Mackay Brown: this is his first published book of poems, here reissued with a new introduction by Kathleen Jamie and illustrations by Julia Sorrell. George Mackay Brown was born in Stromness, Orkney, on 17 October 1921. He died there in 1996. His many awards include a Society of Authors Travel Award, 1968; SAC Literature Prize, 1969; Katherine Mansfield Menton Short Story Prize, 1971; Hon. LLD from Dundee University, 1977; OBE, 1974; James Tait Black Memorial Prize 1987 (for The Golden Bird). He was nominated for the Booker Prize in 1994 for his novel Beside the Ocean of Time. He left behind him an extraordinary body of work: novels, short stories, poetry, journalism and even two operatic collaborations with Peter Maxwell Davis.

Additional details