The Scottish League Cup

The Scottish League Cup

By David Potter



The Scottish League Cup is often wrongly described as the 'Cinderella' of Scottish football, as distinct from its two ugly sisters, the Scottish League and the Scottish Cup. Dating from the Second World War, it is certainly the youngest. The trophy is unusual, if not unique, in having three handles. It is a major part of the Scottish season, and has been keenly contested for 75 years. Sixteen teams have won the cup. Unsurprisingly, the big Glasgow clubs have won it the most, but Aberdeen, Hearts, Hibs and Dundee have also tasted glory. The trophy has also given the likes of Raith Rovers and Livingston their moments in the sun - and who could ignore the mighty deeds of East Fife, who won the cup three times in its first decade? Rangers hold the record for Scottish League Cup wins, but Celtic's victories have been more spectacular, not least their astonishing 7-1 triumph in the 1957 final. This book pays homage to each one of the 75 seasons, with a detailed account of every final.

ISBN: 9781801500562


  • In stock online
  • Delivery 2-3 working days
  • Free Delivery in ROI

+ 95 Reward Points