Dissolution P/B

Product information


Stock: In Stock

Our USPs

Dubray Rewards
Earn 62 Reward Points on this title
Free Delivery
Extended Range: Delivery 3-4 working days

Dissolution P/B

Product information

Author: C. J. Sansom

Type: Paperback

ISBN: 9781447285830

Date: 16th July, 2015

Publisher: PAN BOOKS

  1. Categories

  2. Crime And Mysteries
  3. Historical Fiction


Tudor England is brought to vivid life in Dissolution , the first in C.J. Samson's phenomenal, bestselling Shardlake series. After one of Cromwell's commissioners is brutally murdered, Matthew Shardlake is drawn into an investigation that becomes darker than he could have ever imagined . . . Perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory. 'C.J. Sansom's books are arguably the best Tudor novels going' - Sunday Times England, 1537: Henry VIII has proclaimed himself Supreme Head of the Church and the country is waking up to savage new laws, rigged trials and the greatest network of informers ever seen. Under the order of Thomas Cromwell, a team of commissioners is sent through the country to investigate the monasteries. There can only be one outcome: the monasteries are to be dissolved. But on the Sussex coast, at the monastery of Scarnsea, events have spiralled out of control. Cromwell's Commissioner Robin Singleton, has been found dead, his head severed from his body. His horrific murder is accompanied by equally sinister acts of sacrilege - a black cockerel sacrificed on the altar, and the disappearance of Scarnsea's Great Relic. Dr Matthew Shardlake, lawyer and long-time supporter of Reform, has been sent by Cromwell into this atmosphere of treachery and death. But Shardlake's investigation soon forces him to question everything he hears, and everything that he intrinsically believes . . . 'Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time' - Andrew Taylor, Spectator Follow Matthew Shardlake into the dark heart of Tudor England with the rest of the series: Dark Fire, Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland .

Additional details