Burial Rites

Product information

€14.50

Stock: In Stock Online

Our USPs

Same Day Dispatch
Order by 6pm for same day dispatch
Free Delivery
Delivery in 1-2 working days
Dubray Rewards
Earn 58 Reward Points on this title

Burial Rites

Product information

Author: Hannah Kent

Type: Paperback

ISBN: 9781447233176

Date: 27th February, 2014

Publisher: PICADOR

  1. Categories

  2. Social Issues
  3. Historical Fiction
  4. Thriller

Description

BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick! Set against Iceland's stark landscape, Hannah Kent brings to vivid life the story of Agnes, who is charged with the brutal murder of her former master. Inspired by a true story, Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Wonder by Emma Donoghue - The Women's Prize for Fiction Shortlist - The Guardian First Book Award Shortlist - The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Shortlist Iceland, 1829 - Agnes Magnúsdóttir is condemned to death for her part in the murder of her lover. Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jón Jónsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Tóti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes's spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes's story begins to emerge and with it the family's terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed. Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we're told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland's formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others? 'Outstanding' - Madeline Miller 'Sublime' - Sunday Telegraph 'One of the most gripping, intriguing and unique books I've read this year' - Kate Mosse

Additional details