Search

Nomadland

ISBN: 9781800750302
€12.00
€12.15
ACADAMY AWARD WINNER: best picture, best director & best actress. Nomadland tells a revelatory tale of the dark underbelly of the American economy.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
48 Points

ACADAMY AWARD WINNER: best picture, best director & best actress

Staring Oscar winner Frances McDormand & directed by Chloe Zhao

'Sublimely written' Sunday Times

'Scorching, beautifully written, vivid, disturbing (and occasionally wryly funny)' Rebecca Solnit

Nomadland tells a revelatory tale of the dark underbelly of the American economy - one which foreshadows the precarious future that may await many more of us. At the same time, it celebrates the exceptional resilience and creativity of people who have given up ordinary rootedness to survive, but have not given up hope.

From the beetroot fields of North Dakota to the campgrounds of California to Amazon's CamperForce program in Texas, employers have discovered a new, low-cost labour pool, made up largely of transient older adults. These invisible casualties of the Great Recession have taken to the road by the tens of thousands in RVs and modified vans, forming a growing community of nomads.


Golden Globes Winner: Best Film, Best Director

Bafta Nominated: Best Film, Best Director, Best Actress

Review: 'A remarkable book' -- New Yorker
'A devastating, revelatory book' -- Washington Post

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

ACADAMY AWARD WINNER: best picture, best director & best actress

Staring Oscar winner Frances McDormand & directed by Chloe Zhao

'Sublimely written' Sunday Times

'Scorching, beautifully written, vivid, disturbing (and occasionally wryly funny)' Rebecca Solnit

Nomadland tells a revelatory tale of the dark underbelly of the American economy - one which foreshadows the precarious future that may await many more of us. At the same time, it celebrates the exceptional resilience and creativity of people who have given up ordinary rootedness to survive, but have not given up hope.

From the beetroot fields of North Dakota to the campgrounds of California to Amazon's CamperForce program in Texas, employers have discovered a new, low-cost labour pool, made up largely of transient older adults. These invisible casualties of the Great Recession have taken to the road by the tens of thousands in RVs and modified vans, forming a growing community of nomads.


Golden Globes Winner: Best Film, Best Director

Bafta Nominated: Best Film, Best Director, Best Actress

Review: 'A remarkable book' -- New Yorker
'A devastating, revelatory book' -- Washington Post

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Paris Library: a novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

Availability: In Stock
Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.
€15.99 €18.90

The Guest Book: The New York Times Bestseller

Availability: In Stock
€12.00 €12.15

The Premonition

Availability: In Stock
The extraordinary story of a group who anticipated, traced and hunted the coronavirus; who understood the need to think differently, to learn from history, to question everything; and to do all of this fast, in order to act, to save lives, communities, society itself.
€24.99 €33.80