Search

The Summer I Robbed A Bank

ISBN: 9780241362235
€8.99
€9.45
A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Walliams.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
36 Points

Rex's parents have split up, he's about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island - with lots of unruly sheep for company.

The only upside: he'll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm.

Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet - to rob the island's travelling bank!

Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O'Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island.

And he needs Rex's help . . .

A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.


Praise for David O'Doherty's Danger is Everywhere series:

'I dislocated my jaw laughing' Eoin Colfer

'Imagine the Mighty Boosh crashed into the Wimpy Kid' The Times

'Brilliantly funny' Gransnet

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

Rex's parents have split up, he's about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island - with lots of unruly sheep for company.

The only upside: he'll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm.

Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet - to rob the island's travelling bank!

Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O'Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island.

And he needs Rex's help . . .

A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.


Praise for David O'Doherty's Danger is Everywhere series:

'I dislocated my jaw laughing' Eoin Colfer

'Imagine the Mighty Boosh crashed into the Wimpy Kid' The Times

'Brilliantly funny' Gransnet

Customers who bought this item also bought

Aldrin Adams and the Cheese Nightmares

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Favourite... A brilliantly funny, heart-warming adventure about a boy with the world's most unusual and stinky super-power! Perfect for fans of David Baddiel and Sam Copeland.
€10.99 €13.00

The Day the Screens Went Blank

Availability: In Stock
A brand new middle grade adventure from bestselling author Danny Wallace that explores the chaos that ensues when everyone's gadgets mysteriously stop working.
€10.80

Megamonster

Availability: In Stock
The new children's book from No. 1 bestselling author David Walliams - a timeless adventure illustrated by artistic genius, Tony Ross.
€12.99 €17.55

The Brain That Changes Itself: Stories of Personal Triumph from the Frontiers of Brain Science

Availability: In Stock
Introduces us to the stories of the brain science and the discipline of 'neuroplasticity'. This title allows you to meet the stroke victim who unable to feed or dress himself learned to move and talk again, and the maverick scientists over turning centuries of assumptions about the brain and it's capacity for renewal.
€14.85