Search

The Ruin

€12.15
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. The Ruin is the first in an exciting new crime series featuring DI Cormac Reilly. Cormac has left a high-flying Dublin career to return to Galway, where he is confronted with a case that has haunted him for twenty years...
Availability: In Stock
+ -
49 Points

The supposed suicide of a young man makes DI Cormac Reilly’s first case back in Galway a deeply personal one. As his quest for answers is repeatedly blocked by his own colleagues, he must join forces with the victim’s distraught family in a search for justice that brings the reader into the fold and makes their hunt your own. Powerful writing from a new voice in Irish crime, set in a fresh location with characters that live beyond the page.

- Recommended by Emmet Driver, Dubray Blackrock

'Excellently written and at times, heartcatchingly sad' MARIAN KEYES

*****
CORMAC REILLY IS ABOUT TO REOPEN A CASE IT TOOK HIM TWENTY YEARS TO FORGET . . .

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

*****

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.

Products specifications
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN 9780751569315
Published 06/09/2018
Binding Paperback
Pages 400
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

The supposed suicide of a young man makes DI Cormac Reilly’s first case back in Galway a deeply personal one. As his quest for answers is repeatedly blocked by his own colleagues, he must join forces with the victim’s distraught family in a search for justice that brings the reader into the fold and makes their hunt your own. Powerful writing from a new voice in Irish crime, set in a fresh location with characters that live beyond the page.

- Recommended by Emmet Driver, Dubray Blackrock

'Excellently written and at times, heartcatchingly sad' MARIAN KEYES

*****
CORMAC REILLY IS ABOUT TO REOPEN A CASE IT TOOK HIM TWENTY YEARS TO FORGET . . .

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

*****

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Last Kingdom

Availability: Out of Stock
DESTINY IS ALL. BBC2's major Autumn 2015 TV series THE LAST KINGDOM is based on Bernard Cornwell's bestselling novels on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg. The Last Kingdom is the first book in the series.
€12.15

Mrs Cowan's Boy

Availability: In Stock
When Rory Cowan stepped down from the role of Rory in Mrs Brown’s Boys after 15 years, it made national headlines. Here, in his unique voice, the much-loved entertainer tells his story...
€19.99 €23.00

Lethal White

Availability: In Stock
LETHAL WHITE is both a gripping mystery and the page-turning next instalment in the highly acclaimed series featuring Cormoran Strike and Robin Ellacott, written by J.K. Rowling under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.
€12.15