Search

The Ruin

ISBN: 9780751569315
€12.15
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. The Ruin is the first in an exciting new crime series featuring DI Cormac Reilly. Cormac has left a high-flying Dublin career to return to Galway, where he is confronted with a case that has haunted him for twenty years...
Availability: In Stock
+ -
49 Points

The supposed suicide of a young man makes DI Cormac Reilly’s first case back in Galway a deeply personal one. As his quest for answers is repeatedly blocked by his own colleagues, he must join forces with the victim’s distraught family in a search for justice that brings the reader into the fold and makes their hunt your own. Powerful writing from a new voice in Irish crime, set in a fresh location with characters that live beyond the page.

- Recommended by Emmet Driver, Dubray Blackrock

'Excellently written and at times, heartcatchingly sad' MARIAN KEYES

*****
CORMAC REILLY IS ABOUT TO REOPEN A CASE IT TOOK HIM TWENTY YEARS TO FORGET . . .

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

*****

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

The supposed suicide of a young man makes DI Cormac Reilly’s first case back in Galway a deeply personal one. As his quest for answers is repeatedly blocked by his own colleagues, he must join forces with the victim’s distraught family in a search for justice that brings the reader into the fold and makes their hunt your own. Powerful writing from a new voice in Irish crime, set in a fresh location with characters that live beyond the page.

- Recommended by Emmet Driver, Dubray Blackrock

'Excellently written and at times, heartcatchingly sad' MARIAN KEYES

*****
CORMAC REILLY IS ABOUT TO REOPEN A CASE IT TOOK HIM TWENTY YEARS TO FORGET . . .

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

*****

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Scholar

Availability: In Stock
The sensational, gripping new Cormac Reilly novel from the internationally bestselling author of THE RUIN. Detective Cormac Reilly must once again navigate the tensions of the Galway police station, whilst investigating a murder that is far too close to home.
€12.15

Arms Crisis of 1970 The: The Plot

Availability: In Stock
A serious, revisionist history of the most notorious court case in postwar Irish history.
€19.99 €23.00

The Last Kingdom

Availability: Out of Stock - Cannot Order At Present
DESTINY IS ALL. BBC2's major Autumn 2015 TV series THE LAST KINGDOM is based on Bernard Cornwell's bestselling novels on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg. The Last Kingdom is the first book in the series.
€12.15

Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race

Availability: In Stock
€10.99 €12.15