close
Facebook

The Ruin

Binding: Paperback
Pages: 400
Pub Date: 06/09/2018
ISBN: 9780751569315
Availability: In Stock
Quick overview A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. The Ruin is the first in an exciting new crime series featuring DI Cormac Reilly. Cormac has left a high-flying Dublin career to return to Galway, where he is confronted with a case that has haunted him for twenty years...
€12.15
€12.00
Product description

The supposed suicide of a young man makes DI Cormac Reilly’s first case back in Galway a deeply personal one. As his quest for answers is repeatedly blocked by his own colleagues, he must join forces with the victim’s distraught family in a search for justice that brings the reader into the fold and makes their hunt your own. Powerful writing from a new voice in Irish crime, set in a fresh location with characters that live beyond the page.

- Recommended by Emmet Driver, Dubray Blackrock

'Excellently written and at times, heartcatchingly sad' MARIAN KEYES

*****
CORMAC REILLY IS ABOUT TO REOPEN A CASE IT TOOK HIM TWENTY YEARS TO FORGET . . .

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

*****

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.

Additional information