Search

The Ruin

€12.15
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. The Ruin is the first in an exciting new crime series featuring DI Cormac Reilly. Cormac has left a high-flying Dublin career to return to Galway, where he is confronted with a case that has haunted him for twenty years...
Availability: In Stock
+ -
49 Points

The supposed suicide of a young man makes DI Cormac Reilly’s first case back in Galway a deeply personal one. As his quest for answers is repeatedly blocked by his own colleagues, he must join forces with the victim’s distraught family in a search for justice that brings the reader into the fold and makes their hunt your own. Powerful writing from a new voice in Irish crime, set in a fresh location with characters that live beyond the page.

- Recommended by Emmet Driver, Dubray Blackrock

'Excellently written and at times, heartcatchingly sad' MARIAN KEYES

*****
CORMAC REILLY IS ABOUT TO REOPEN A CASE IT TOOK HIM TWENTY YEARS TO FORGET . . .

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

*****

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.

Products specifications
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN 9780751569315
Published 06/09/2018
Binding Paperback
Pages 400
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

The supposed suicide of a young man makes DI Cormac Reilly’s first case back in Galway a deeply personal one. As his quest for answers is repeatedly blocked by his own colleagues, he must join forces with the victim’s distraught family in a search for justice that brings the reader into the fold and makes their hunt your own. Powerful writing from a new voice in Irish crime, set in a fresh location with characters that live beyond the page.

- Recommended by Emmet Driver, Dubray Blackrock

'Excellently written and at times, heartcatchingly sad' MARIAN KEYES

*****
CORMAC REILLY IS ABOUT TO REOPEN A CASE IT TOOK HIM TWENTY YEARS TO FORGET . . .

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

*****

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Lethal White

Availability: In Stock
LETHAL WHITE is both a gripping mystery and the page-turning next instalment in the highly acclaimed series featuring Cormoran Strike and Robin Ellacott, written by J.K. Rowling under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.
€12.15

Dead at First Sight

Availability: In Stock
The 15th Detective Superintendent Roy Grace novel from the highly acclaimed number one bestselling author, Peter James.
€14.99 €18.95

Beyond Reasonable Doubt: Elliot Rook, QC: Book 1

Availability: In Stock
€15.99 €17.55

Scrublands

Availability: In Stock
A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper
€12.00 €12.15