You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search

The Paris Library

ISBN: 9781529335460
€12.00
€12.55
The instant New York Times bestseller, inspired by the true story of the librarians at the American Library in Paris who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage, defiance and betrayal in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
48 Points

IN THE DARKNESS OF WAR, THE LIGHT OF BOOKS - HOW LIBRARIANS DEFIED THE NAZIS
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

'A wonderful novel celebrating the power of books and libraries to change people's lives' JILL MANSELL
'Heart-breaking and heart-lifting and always enchanting' RUTH HOGAN
'An irresistible and utterly compelling novel that will appeal to bibliophiles and historical fiction fans alike' SUNDAY EXPRESS
'I devoured The Paris Library in one hungry gulp . . . charming and moving' TATIANA DE ROSNAY
'An irresistible, compelling read' FIONA DAVIS
'Paris and libraries. What's not to love?!' NATASHA LESTER
'Compelling' WOMAN & HOME
'Delightful, richly detailed' PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY

PARIS, 1939
Odile Souchet is obsessed with books, and her new job at the American Library in Paris - with its thriving community of students, writers and book lovers - is a dream come true. When war is declared, the Library is determined to remain open. But then the Nazis invade Paris, and everything changes.
In Occupied Paris, choices as black and white as the words on a page become a murky shade of grey - choices that will put many on the wrong side of history, and the consequences of which will echo for decades to come.

MONTANA, 1983
Lily is a lonely teenager desperate to escape small-town Montana. She grows close to her neighbour Odile, discovering they share the same love of language, the same longings. But as Lily uncovers more about Odile's mysterious past, she discovers a dark secret, closely guarded and long hidden.

Based on the true Second World War story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable novel of romance, friendship, family, and of heroism found in the quietest of places.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

IN THE DARKNESS OF WAR, THE LIGHT OF BOOKS - HOW LIBRARIANS DEFIED THE NAZIS
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

'A wonderful novel celebrating the power of books and libraries to change people's lives' JILL MANSELL
'Heart-breaking and heart-lifting and always enchanting' RUTH HOGAN
'An irresistible and utterly compelling novel that will appeal to bibliophiles and historical fiction fans alike' SUNDAY EXPRESS
'I devoured The Paris Library in one hungry gulp . . . charming and moving' TATIANA DE ROSNAY
'An irresistible, compelling read' FIONA DAVIS
'Paris and libraries. What's not to love?!' NATASHA LESTER
'Compelling' WOMAN & HOME
'Delightful, richly detailed' PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY

PARIS, 1939
Odile Souchet is obsessed with books, and her new job at the American Library in Paris - with its thriving community of students, writers and book lovers - is a dream come true. When war is declared, the Library is determined to remain open. But then the Nazis invade Paris, and everything changes.
In Occupied Paris, choices as black and white as the words on a page become a murky shade of grey - choices that will put many on the wrong side of history, and the consequences of which will echo for decades to come.

MONTANA, 1983
Lily is a lonely teenager desperate to escape small-town Montana. She grows close to her neighbour Odile, discovering they share the same love of language, the same longings. But as Lily uncovers more about Odile's mysterious past, she discovers a dark secret, closely guarded and long hidden.

Based on the true Second World War story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable novel of romance, friendship, family, and of heroism found in the quietest of places.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Daisy Jones and The Six

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. THE SUNDAY TIMES AND NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER'I LOVE it . It's also a call-to-arms that when you find your niche, don't doubt, embrace it.' EMERALD STREET'The verdict: Daisy Jones steals the limelight... A zeitgeist book for 2019' STYLIST'Well observed, sensitively told .
€10.99 €12.55

The Guest Book

Availability: In Stock
The New York Times runaway bestseller, a powerful tale about three generations of a privileged New York family.
€12.00 €12.55

Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Availability: In Stock
From the author of Daisy Jones & The Six in which a legendary film actress reflects on her relentless rise to the top and the risks she took, the loves she lost, and the long-held secrets the public could never imagine.
€12.00 €12.55

The Spanish Love Deception

Availability: In Stock
The Spanish Love Deception is an enemies-to-lovers, fake-dating, SLOW-BURN romance. Perfect for those looking for a steamy slow-burn with the sweetest Happily Ever After.
€10.99 €12.55