Search

The Man in the Red Coat

ISBN: 9781529112313
€12.99
€14.85
Availability: In Stock
+ -
52 Points

*SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA BOOK AWARDS 2020*

'A bravura performance, highly entertaining' Evening Standard

The Booker Prize-winning author of The Sense of an Ending takes us on a rich, witty tour of Belle Epoque Paris, via the life story of the pioneering surgeon Samuel Pozzi.

In the summer of 1885, three Frenchmen arrived in London for a few days' shopping. One was a Prince, one was a Count, and the third was a commoner, who four years earlier had been the subject of one of John Singer Sargent's greatest portraits. The commoner was Samuel Pozzi, society doctor, pioneer gynaecologist and free-thinker - a scientific man with a famously complicated private life.

Pozzi's life played out against the backdrop of the Parisian Belle Epoque. The beautiful age of glamour and pleasure more often showed its ugly side: hysterical, narcissistic, decadent and violent, with more parallels to our own age than we might imagine.

**SHORTLISTED FOR THE DUFF COOPER PRIZE 2019**

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

*SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA BOOK AWARDS 2020*

'A bravura performance, highly entertaining' Evening Standard

The Booker Prize-winning author of The Sense of an Ending takes us on a rich, witty tour of Belle Epoque Paris, via the life story of the pioneering surgeon Samuel Pozzi.

In the summer of 1885, three Frenchmen arrived in London for a few days' shopping. One was a Prince, one was a Count, and the third was a commoner, who four years earlier had been the subject of one of John Singer Sargent's greatest portraits. The commoner was Samuel Pozzi, society doctor, pioneer gynaecologist and free-thinker - a scientific man with a famously complicated private life.

Pozzi's life played out against the backdrop of the Parisian Belle Epoque. The beautiful age of glamour and pleasure more often showed its ugly side: hysterical, narcissistic, decadent and violent, with more parallels to our own age than we might imagine.

**SHORTLISTED FOR THE DUFF COOPER PRIZE 2019**

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Five : The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper

Availability: In Stock
'THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER- Five devastating human stories and a dark and moving portrait of Victorian London - the untold lives of the women killed by Jack the Ripper. 'Powerful and shaming' Guardian
€13.50

The Paris Library: a novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

Availability: In Stock
Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.
€15.99 €18.90

Listening Still

Availability: In Stock
The new novel by the bestselling author of When All is Said. Jeanie Masterson has a gift: she can hear the last words of the dead...
€13.99 €18.90

Benediction

Availability: In Stock
SHORTLISTED FOR THE FOLIO PRIZE. Following the astonishing Plainsong and Eventide, this is Haruf's third novel set in the imaginary landscape of Holt, Colorado.
€12.15