Search

The Librarian

ISBN: 9780241330234
€12.15
A moving testament to the joy of reading and the power of books to change and inspire us all. 'Vickers sees with a clear eye and writes with a light hand; she's a presence worth cherishing in the ranks of modern novelists.' Philip Pullman
Availability: In Stock
+ -
49 Points

A charmingly subversive novel about a library in 1950s England, by the acclaimed author of The Cleaner of Chartres.

Sylvia Blackwell, a young woman in her twenties, moves to East Mole, a quaint market town in middle England, to start a new job as a children's librarian. But the apparently pleasant town is not all it seems. Sylvia falls in love with an older man - but it's her connectionto his precocious young daughter and her neighbours' son which will change her life and put them, the library and her job under threat.

How does the library alter the young children's lives and how do the children fare as a result of the books Sylvia introduces them to?

'The Librarian will wring the heart of anyone who fell in love with books as a child. It is a hymn to the power of children's literature...delightful' The Times

'This beautifully crafted novel is a tribute to the power of books' Sunday Express

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

A charmingly subversive novel about a library in 1950s England, by the acclaimed author of The Cleaner of Chartres.

Sylvia Blackwell, a young woman in her twenties, moves to East Mole, a quaint market town in middle England, to start a new job as a children's librarian. But the apparently pleasant town is not all it seems. Sylvia falls in love with an older man - but it's her connectionto his precocious young daughter and her neighbours' son which will change her life and put them, the library and her job under threat.

How does the library alter the young children's lives and how do the children fare as a result of the books Sylvia introduces them to?

'The Librarian will wring the heart of anyone who fell in love with books as a child. It is a hymn to the power of children's literature...delightful' The Times

'This beautifully crafted novel is a tribute to the power of books' Sunday Express

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Flatshare

Availability: In Stock
A quirky love story from a fresh new talent. A Dubray Staff Recommended Read: "One of my books of the year, this funny, heart-warming, unconventional love story is a thoroughly enjoyable read, providing the perfect escape from today’s doom and gloom! "
€12.00 €12.15

Where the Crawdads Sing

Availability: In Stock
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.
€12.00 €12.15

An American Marriage

Availability: In Stock
WINNER Women's Prize for Fiction 2019. The stunning and heart-breaking new novel from New York Times-bestselling author Tayari Jones
€12.00 €12.15

Our Little Cruelties

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... Three brothers are at the funeral. One lies in the coffin. Will, Brian and Luke grow up competing for their mother's unequal love. As men, the competition continues - for status, money, fame, women ... They each betray each other, over and over, until one of them is dead. But which brother killed him?
€14.99 €18.95