close
Facebook

The Heart's Invisible Furies

Author: John Boyne
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 720
Pub Date: 14/12/2017
ISBN: 9781784161002
Availability: In Stock
Quick overview A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... Cyril Avery is not a real Avery or at least that's what his adoptive parents tell him. But if he isn't a real Avery, then who is he? Born out of wedlock to a teenage girl cast out from her rural Irish community and adopted by a well-to-do Dublin couple via the intervention of a hunchbacked Redemptorist nun, Cyril is adrift in the world.
€12.15
€12.00
Product description

The story of Cyril Avery filled me with delight from the very first line. Born out of wedlock in 1940s Catholic Ireland, Cyril never quite fits in. Eccentric adoptive parents leave him groundless while his fears and unrequited love for a school friend create a life even more at odds with his character. Boyne’s wit fills the pages with vibrant characters and skilfully exposes the hypocrisy of church and state. I guarantee you will fly through this wonderful novel.

Recommended by Anita, Dubray Kilkenny

Cyril Avery is not a real Avery or at least that's what his adoptive parents tell him. And he never will be. But if he isn't a real Avery, then who is he?

Born out of wedlock to a teenage girl cast out from her rural Irish community and adopted by a well-to-do if eccentric Dublin couple via the intervention of a hunchbacked Redemptorist nun, Cyril is adrift in the world, anchored only tenuously by his heartfelt friendship with the infinitely more glamourous and dangerous Julian Woodbead.

At the mercy of fortune and coincidence, he will spend a lifetime coming to know himself and where he came from - and over his three score years and ten, will struggle to discover an identity, a home, a country and much more.

In this, Boyne's most transcendent work to date, we are shown the story of Ireland from the 1940s to today through the eyes of one ordinary man. The Heart's Invisible Furies is a novel to make you laugh and cry while reminding us all of the redemptive power of the human spirit.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

€12.15
€12.00
The Sunday Times bestseller Soon to be a major motion picture produced by Reese Witherspoon `Funny, touching and unpredictable' Jojo Moyes Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive - but not how to live

Beartown

€10.80

Letters to my Daughters

€17.55
€14.99
This book is currently reprinting but you can still place an order to be supplied as soon as the new stock arrives. ALL DUBRAY PROFITS FROM SALES OF 'LETTERS TO MY DAUGHTERS' WILL BE DONATED TO THE BREAST CANCER IRELAND. The new heartwarming novel from Emma Hannigan, the No. 1 Irish bestselling author of THE PERFECT GIFT and THE WEDDING PROMISE. Perfect for fans of Patricia Scanlan and Jojo Moyes. 'Wonderfully uplifting' Cathy Kelly on THE PERFECT GIFT.