Search

The Glorious Guinness Girls

ISBN: 9781529352894
€10.50
€10.80
From Ireland to 1920s London, a glorious, gripping, moving and richly textured novel which takes us to the heart of the remarkable real-life story of the Guinness Girls.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
84 Points

'Fans of Downton Abbey will adore this' Sunday Times

'The perfect glorious escape ... the intimacy of a family drama, set against the most opulent of backdrops' Sunday Independent

The Glorious Guinness Girls are the toast of London and Dublin society. Darlings of the press, Aileen,
Maureen and Oonagh lead charmed existences that are the envy of many.

But Fliss knows better. Sent to live with them as a child, she grows up as part of the family and only she knows of the complex lives beneath the glamorous surface.

Then, at a party one summer's evening, something happens which sends shockwaves through the entire household. In the aftermath, as the Guinness sisters move on, Fliss is forced to examine her place in their world and decide if where she finds herself is where she truly belongs.

Set amid the turmoil of the Irish Civil War and the brittle glamour of 1920s London, The Glorious Guinness Girls is inspired by one of the most fascinating family dynasties in the world - an unforgettable novel of reckless youth, family loyalty and destiny.

If you loved Downton Abbey, Julian Fellowes' Belgravia or Paula McLain's The Paris Wife, you will adore The Glorious Guinness Girls.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

'Fans of Downton Abbey will adore this' Sunday Times

'The perfect glorious escape ... the intimacy of a family drama, set against the most opulent of backdrops' Sunday Independent

The Glorious Guinness Girls are the toast of London and Dublin society. Darlings of the press, Aileen,
Maureen and Oonagh lead charmed existences that are the envy of many.

But Fliss knows better. Sent to live with them as a child, she grows up as part of the family and only she knows of the complex lives beneath the glamorous surface.

Then, at a party one summer's evening, something happens which sends shockwaves through the entire household. In the aftermath, as the Guinness sisters move on, Fliss is forced to examine her place in their world and decide if where she finds herself is where she truly belongs.

Set amid the turmoil of the Irish Civil War and the brittle glamour of 1920s London, The Glorious Guinness Girls is inspired by one of the most fascinating family dynasties in the world - an unforgettable novel of reckless youth, family loyalty and destiny.

If you loved Downton Abbey, Julian Fellowes' Belgravia or Paula McLain's The Paris Wife, you will adore The Glorious Guinness Girls.

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Paris Library: a novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

Availability: In Stock
Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.
€15.99 €18.90

The Guest Book: The New York Times Bestseller

Availability: In Stock
€12.00 €12.15

Diving for Pearls

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... Diving for Pearls follows the stories of several characters, each striving for a better life in Dubai, all linked by the body of a young woman floating in the city's marina.
€13.99 €18.90

The Perfect Lie

Availability: In Stock
The internationally bestselling author of The Confession returns with a stunning new thriller that will keep you guessing right till the end.
€13.99 €17.55