Search

The Boatman and Other Stories

ISBN: 9781784708757
€13.50
The breathtaking short story collection from the Costa-shortlisted Irish writer Three gunshots on the Irish border define the course of a young man's life;
Availability: In Stock
+ -
54 Points

The breathtaking short story collection from the Costa-shortlisted Irish writer

Three gunshots on the Irish border define the course of a young man's life; a writer clings fast to a star-crossed affair with a woman who has never been fully in his reach; a fisherman accustomed to hard labour rolls up his sleeves to dig a grave for his child; a pair of newly-weds embark on their first adventure, living wild on the deserted Beginish Island.

Spanning a century and two continents - from the muddy fields of Ireland to a hotel room in Paris, a dingy bar in Segovia to an aeroplane bound for Taipei - these densely layered tales reveal the quiet heroism and gentle dignity of ordinary life. Ranging from the elegiac to the brutally confrontational, Billy O'Callaghan's stories explore the resilience of the human heart and its ability to keep beating even in the wake of grief, trauma and lost love.

'The best fiction I have read this year... Taut, subtle and moving, and brought off beautifully' John Banville, Best Books of 2020, Irish Times

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

The breathtaking short story collection from the Costa-shortlisted Irish writer

Three gunshots on the Irish border define the course of a young man's life; a writer clings fast to a star-crossed affair with a woman who has never been fully in his reach; a fisherman accustomed to hard labour rolls up his sleeves to dig a grave for his child; a pair of newly-weds embark on their first adventure, living wild on the deserted Beginish Island.

Spanning a century and two continents - from the muddy fields of Ireland to a hotel room in Paris, a dingy bar in Segovia to an aeroplane bound for Taipei - these densely layered tales reveal the quiet heroism and gentle dignity of ordinary life. Ranging from the elegiac to the brutally confrontational, Billy O'Callaghan's stories explore the resilience of the human heart and its ability to keep beating even in the wake of grief, trauma and lost love.

'The best fiction I have read this year... Taut, subtle and moving, and brought off beautifully' John Banville, Best Books of 2020, Irish Times

Customers who bought this item also bought

Life Sentences

Availability: In Stock
A sweeping historical epic about one Irish family's fight for survival - the most ambitious novel yet from the Costa-shortlisted writer, for fans of Colm Toibin and Sebastian Barry.
€14.99 €17.55

Any Human Heart

Availability: In Stock
Every life is both ordinary and extraordinary, but Logan Mountstuart's - lived from the beginning to the end of the twentieth century - contains more than its fair share of both.
€12.15

My Coney Island Baby

Availability: In Stock
'A poignant, piercing meditation on middle age and the passing of time... will linger with you long after the book is closed' Claire Kilroy, Guardian On a bitterly cold winter's afternoon, Michael and Caitlin escape their unhappy marriages to keep an illicit rendezvous.
€12.15