Search

Still Life

ISBN: 9780008283360
€14.99
€17.55
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... By the bestselling, prize-winning author of When God was a Rabbit and Tin Man, Still Life is a beautiful, big-hearted, richly tapestried story of people brought together by love, war, art, flood... and the ghost of E.M. Forster.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
60 Points

'Sarah Winman has given us a beautiful, life affirming gift with this book. Spanning four decades, from Florence and the Tuscan hills during World War Two to London’s East End and back, you’ll feel as if you’ve known her characters forever. She portrays their lives as they navigate all of life’s grand and intimate moments with startling humanity and deep compassion. Settle into this stunning book and be fully transported to another world you won’t want to leave.' - Recommended by Martin Shannon, Dubray Dun Laoghaire.


By the bestselling, prize-winning author of When God was a Rabbit and Tin Man, Still Life is a beautiful, big-hearted, richly tapestried story of people brought together by love, war, art, flood... and the ghost of E.M. Forster.




We just need to know what the heart's capable of, Evelyn.


And do you know what it's capable of?


I do. Grace and fury.



It's 1944 and in the ruined wine cellar of a Tuscan villa, as the Allied troops advance and bombs fall around them, two strangers meet and share an extraordinary evening together.


Ulysses Temper is a young British solider and one-time globe-maker, Evelyn Skinner is a sexagenarian art historian and possible spy. She has come to Italy to salvage paintings from the ruins and relive her memories of the time she encountered EM Forster and had her heart stolen by an Italian maid in a particular Florentine room with a view.


These two unlikely people find kindred spirits in each other and Evelyn's talk of truth and beauty plants a seed in Ulysses mind that will shape the trajectory of his life - and of those who love him - for the next four decades.


Moving from the Tuscan Hills, to the smog of the East End and the piazzas of Florence, Still Life is a sweeping, mischievous, richly-peopled novel about beauty, love, family and fate.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Suffused with Florentine sunshine and history.
Moving from the end of WWII as Ulysses Temper, and English soldier, falls in love with Florence even as it lies in partial ruins. As he helps to rescue hidden artworks from the destruction of war, a new world of beauty opens up and entrances him. The story meanders beautifully through the lives and loves of the people he cares for, both in Florence and London, over the following decades. Absolutely gorgeous - I did not want to let these characters go!
From: Karina | 14/06/2021 12:29
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Description

'Sarah Winman has given us a beautiful, life affirming gift with this book. Spanning four decades, from Florence and the Tuscan hills during World War Two to London’s East End and back, you’ll feel as if you’ve known her characters forever. She portrays their lives as they navigate all of life’s grand and intimate moments with startling humanity and deep compassion. Settle into this stunning book and be fully transported to another world you won’t want to leave.' - Recommended by Martin Shannon, Dubray Dun Laoghaire.


By the bestselling, prize-winning author of When God was a Rabbit and Tin Man, Still Life is a beautiful, big-hearted, richly tapestried story of people brought together by love, war, art, flood... and the ghost of E.M. Forster.




We just need to know what the heart's capable of, Evelyn.


And do you know what it's capable of?


I do. Grace and fury.



It's 1944 and in the ruined wine cellar of a Tuscan villa, as the Allied troops advance and bombs fall around them, two strangers meet and share an extraordinary evening together.


Ulysses Temper is a young British solider and one-time globe-maker, Evelyn Skinner is a sexagenarian art historian and possible spy. She has come to Italy to salvage paintings from the ruins and relive her memories of the time she encountered EM Forster and had her heart stolen by an Italian maid in a particular Florentine room with a view.


These two unlikely people find kindred spirits in each other and Evelyn's talk of truth and beauty plants a seed in Ulysses mind that will shape the trajectory of his life - and of those who love him - for the next four decades.


Moving from the Tuscan Hills, to the smog of the East End and the piazzas of Florence, Still Life is a sweeping, mischievous, richly-peopled novel about beauty, love, family and fate.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Diving for Pearls

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... Diving for Pearls follows the stories of several characters, each striving for a better life in Dubai, all linked by the body of a young woman floating in the city's marina.
€14.99 €18.90

The Paris Library: a novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

Availability: In Stock
Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.
€15.99 €18.90

The Midnight Library

Availability: In Stock
The number one bestseller! The touching, funny and heartwarming new novel from the author of How to Stop Time and Reasons to Stay Alive
€12.00 €12.15