Search

Scrublands

€12.00
€12.15
A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper
Availability: In Stock
+ -
48 Points

'Stunning ... Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory' Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month)

'A heatwave of a novel, scorching and powerful... Extraordinary' AJ Finn

The #1 Bestselling Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

Products specifications
Publisher Headline Book Publishing
ISBN 9781472255143
Published 11/07/2019
Binding Paperback
Pages 352
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

'Stunning ... Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory' Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month)

'A heatwave of a novel, scorching and powerful... Extraordinary' AJ Finn

The #1 Bestselling Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Idaho

Availability: In Stock
One hot August day a family drives to a mountain clearing to collect birch wood. The two daughters, June and May, aged nine and six, drink lemonade, swat away horseflies, bicker, sing snatches of songs as they while away the time.
€12.95

The Garden of Lost and Found

Availability: 7-10 Day Delivery
The new spellbinding novel from Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us, The Butterfly Summer and the Richard & Judy Summer book club pick The Wildflowers.
€17.99 €20.30

Shadowplay

Availability: In Stock
Fresh from life in Dublin as a clerk, Bram may seem the least colourful of the trio but he is wrestling with dark demons in a new city, in a new marriage, and with his own literary aspirations. As he walks the London streets at night, streets haunted by the Ripper and the gossip which swirls around his friend Oscar Wilde, he finds new inspiration.
€14.99 €18.95

Last Stories

Availability: In Stock
€12.00 €12.15