Search

Scrublands

€12.00
€12.15
A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper
Availability: In Stock
+ -
48 Points

'Stunning ... Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory' Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month)

'A heatwave of a novel, scorching and powerful... Extraordinary' AJ Finn

The #1 Bestselling Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

Products specifications
Publisher Headline Book Publishing
ISBN 9781472255143
Published 11/07/2019
Binding Paperback
Pages 352
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

'Stunning ... Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory' Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month)

'A heatwave of a novel, scorching and powerful... Extraordinary' AJ Finn

The #1 Bestselling Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Idaho

Availability: In Stock
One hot August day a family drives to a mountain clearing to collect birch wood. The two daughters, June and May, aged nine and six, drink lemonade, swat away horseflies, bicker, sing snatches of songs as they while away the time.
€12.95

The Garden of Lost and Found

Availability: 7-10 Day Delivery
The new spellbinding novel from Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us, The Butterfly Summer and the Richard & Judy Summer book club pick The Wildflowers.
€17.99 €20.30

The Handmaid's Tale

Availability: In Stock
The Republic of Gilead offers Offred only one function: to breed. If she deviates, she will, like dissenters, be hanged at the wall or sent out to die slowly of radiation sickness. But even a repressive state cannot obliterate desire - neither Offred's nor that of the two men on which her future hangs.
€12.00 €12.15

The Ruin

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. The Ruin is the first in an exciting new crime series featuring DI Cormac Reilly. Cormac has left a high-flying Dublin career to return to Galway, where he is confronted with a case that has haunted him for twenty years...
€12.15