Search

Openhearted

ISBN: 9781844885718
€15.99
€21.00
At 20 Londoner Ann Ingle fell madly in love with an Irish fellow she met on holiday in Cornwall. At the church to arrange their shotgun wedding she discovered that he hadn't even told her his real name.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
64 Points

At 20 Londoner Ann Ingle fell madly in love with an Irish fellow she met on
holiday in Cornwall. At the church to arrange their shotgun wedding she
discovered that he hadn't even told her his real name.
Sixty-odd years later Ann looks back on that first glorious fall and in a series of
essays considers what she has learned from the life that followed - bringing
eight children into the world, their father's years of mental illness and tragic
death at 40, being a cash-strapped single mother in 1980s Dublin, coming into
her own in her middle years - going to college, working and writing, and
continuing to evolve and learn into her ninth decade, even as she accepts the
realities of being 'old'.
Candid about everything that matters - love, sex, heartbreak, money, class,
religion, mental health, rearing children (and letting them go), reading and
writing, ageing - Openhearted is a compelling story about living life in a spirit of
curiosity and delight and with a willingness to look for good in others.
THE AUTHOR
Originally from London, Ann Ingle has lived in Dublin since the 1960s and is a
mother of eight. In 2018, she co-wrote Driven, the memoir of motorsport legend
Rosemary Smith, which was shortlisted for an Irish Book Award.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

At 20 Londoner Ann Ingle fell madly in love with an Irish fellow she met on
holiday in Cornwall. At the church to arrange their shotgun wedding she
discovered that he hadn't even told her his real name.
Sixty-odd years later Ann looks back on that first glorious fall and in a series of
essays considers what she has learned from the life that followed - bringing
eight children into the world, their father's years of mental illness and tragic
death at 40, being a cash-strapped single mother in 1980s Dublin, coming into
her own in her middle years - going to college, working and writing, and
continuing to evolve and learn into her ninth decade, even as she accepts the
realities of being 'old'.
Candid about everything that matters - love, sex, heartbreak, money, class,
religion, mental health, rearing children (and letting them go), reading and
writing, ageing - Openhearted is a compelling story about living life in a spirit of
curiosity and delight and with a willingness to look for good in others.
THE AUTHOR
Originally from London, Ann Ingle has lived in Dublin since the 1960s and is a
mother of eight. In 2018, she co-wrote Driven, the memoir of motorsport legend
Rosemary Smith, which was shortlisted for an Irish Book Award.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Aldrin Adams and the Cheese Nightmares

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Favourite... A brilliantly funny, heart-warming adventure about a boy with the world's most unusual and stinky super-power! Perfect for fans of David Baddiel and Sam Copeland.
€10.99 €13.00

Bumper Book of Simplex Crosswords: From the Irish Times

Availability: In Stock
The first ever Bumper Book of Simplex Crosswords. Containing 300 Simplex crosswords, all newly-published in book form, the first ever Bumper Book of Simplex Crosswords has been compiled by Mary O'Brien.
€10.00

Let's Talk About Where Babies Come from: A Book About Eggs, Sperm, Birth, Babies, and Families

Availability: In Stock
A book about sex and reproduction that covers all the main areas: babies, reproduction, bodies, chromosomes, genes, growing up, love, health and more.
€16.20

The Man Who Died Twice

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... The second gripping novel in the Thursday Murder Club series by TV presenter Richard Osman!
€13.99 €17.55