Search

Mum & Dad

ISBN: 9781529003390
€15.99
€20.30
Their parents made a choice years ago. Now they're counting on the children to step in. After so much time, can old wounds heal? Mum and Dad by the Sunday Times bestseller, Joanna Trollope, is a wise, brilliantly-drawn examination of a modern family dilemma.
Availability: Out of Stock
+ -
64 Points

Sunday Times number one bestseller Joanna Trollope explores the issues at the heart of a modern family with her trademark wit and warmth, in Mum & Dad.

'What a mess, she thought now . . . what a bloody, unholy mess the whole family has got itself into.'

It's been twenty-five years since Gus and Monica left England to start a new life in Spain, building a vineyard and wine business from the ground up. However, when Gus suffers a stroke and their idyllic Mediterranean life is thrown into upheaval, it's left to their three grown-up children in London to step in . . .

Sebastien is busy running his company with his wife, Anna, who's never quite seen eye-to-eye with her mother-in-law.

Katie, a successful solicitor in the City, is distracted by the problems with her long-term partner, Nic, and the secretive lives of their three daughters.

And Jake, ever the easy-going optimist, is determined to convince his new wife, Bella, that moving to Spain with their eighteen-month-old would be a good idea.

As the children descend on the vineyard, it becomes clear that each has their own idea of how best to handle their mum and dad, as well as the family business. But as long-simmering resentments rise to the surface and tensions reach breaking point, can the family ties prove strong enough to keep them together?


'Trollope writes about family relationships with intelligence and clear-eyed sympathy' - The Times

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

Sunday Times number one bestseller Joanna Trollope explores the issues at the heart of a modern family with her trademark wit and warmth, in Mum & Dad.

'What a mess, she thought now . . . what a bloody, unholy mess the whole family has got itself into.'

It's been twenty-five years since Gus and Monica left England to start a new life in Spain, building a vineyard and wine business from the ground up. However, when Gus suffers a stroke and their idyllic Mediterranean life is thrown into upheaval, it's left to their three grown-up children in London to step in . . .

Sebastien is busy running his company with his wife, Anna, who's never quite seen eye-to-eye with her mother-in-law.

Katie, a successful solicitor in the City, is distracted by the problems with her long-term partner, Nic, and the secretive lives of their three daughters.

And Jake, ever the easy-going optimist, is determined to convince his new wife, Bella, that moving to Spain with their eighteen-month-old would be a good idea.

As the children descend on the vineyard, it becomes clear that each has their own idea of how best to handle their mum and dad, as well as the family business. But as long-simmering resentments rise to the surface and tensions reach breaking point, can the family ties prove strong enough to keep them together?


'Trollope writes about family relationships with intelligence and clear-eyed sympathy' - The Times

Customers who bought this item also bought

Our Little Cruelties

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... Three brothers are at the funeral. One lies in the coffin. Will, Brian and Luke grow up competing for their mother's unequal love. As men, the competition continues - for status, money, fame, women ... They each betray each other, over and over, until one of them is dead. But which brother killed him?
€14.99 €18.90

Redhead by the Side of the Road

Availability: In Stock
Nominated for the Booker Prize 2020. DUBRAY STAFF RECOMMENDED READ. From the bestselling author of A Spool of Blue Thread: an offbeat love story about mis-steps, second chances and the elusive art of human connection Micah Mortimer isn't the most polished person you'll ever meet.
€14.99 €17.55

Where the Crawdads Sing

Availability: In Stock
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.
€12.00 €12.15

The Weight of Love

Availability: In Stock
Robin and Ruth meet in the staff room of an East London school. Robin, desperate for a real connection, instantly falls in love. Powerless, Robin watches on as the girl he loves and his best friend begin a passionate and turbulent affair.
€15.99 €18.95