Search

Making Sense of the Troubles: A History of the Northern Ireland Conflict

ISBN: 9780241962657
€20.25
The best one-volume history of the Troubles, from the Irish Civil War through the IRA campaign of the 70s onwards to today's historic power-sharing government in Belfast
Availability: In Stock
+ -
81 Points

COMPLETELY REVISED AND UPDATED EDITION Making Sense of the Troubles is David McKittrick and David McVea's classic history of the Troubles, now completely revised and updated. First published ten years ago, Making Sense of the Troubles is widely regarded as the most 'comprehensive, considered and compassionate' (Irish Times) history of the Troubles in Northern Ireland. Written by a distinguished journalist and a teacher of history in Northern Ireland, it surveys the roots of the problems from 1921 onwards, the descent into violence in the late 60s, and the three terrible decades that followed. McKittrick and McVea have now fully updated the book to take into account the momentous events of the last ten years, including the disbanding of the IRA, Ian Paisley's deal with the Republicans and the historic power-sharing government in Belfast.
'An updated reissue of a collaborative study published 12 years ago to rave reviews as a frank, accurate and authoritative narrative of events which should be required reading for anyone hoping to understand what had been going on in the North' Irish Independent 'I would strongly advocate that it be made compulsory reading for everyone in Northern Ireland because for the first time it is our history, all of it warts and all, presented in a clear and understandable way' Irish News 'Extraordinarily well-balanced, sane, comprehensive and rich in sober understatement' Glasgow Herald 'Compellingly written and very even-handed. By far the clearest account of what happened in the Northern Ireland conflict and more importantly why it happened' Irish News David McKittrick has reported on the Northern Ireland troubles since the 1970s. After working for the Irish Times and BBC he has been Ireland correspondent of the London Independent since 1985. Awards include the Orwell Prize, correspondent of the year and Belfast journalist of the year. David McVea graduated in politics and modern history from Queen's University, Belfast, and has an MA from Sussex University.
He was head of the politics department of a Belfast grammar school where he taught both history and political studies.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

COMPLETELY REVISED AND UPDATED EDITION Making Sense of the Troubles is David McKittrick and David McVea's classic history of the Troubles, now completely revised and updated. First published ten years ago, Making Sense of the Troubles is widely regarded as the most 'comprehensive, considered and compassionate' (Irish Times) history of the Troubles in Northern Ireland. Written by a distinguished journalist and a teacher of history in Northern Ireland, it surveys the roots of the problems from 1921 onwards, the descent into violence in the late 60s, and the three terrible decades that followed. McKittrick and McVea have now fully updated the book to take into account the momentous events of the last ten years, including the disbanding of the IRA, Ian Paisley's deal with the Republicans and the historic power-sharing government in Belfast.
'An updated reissue of a collaborative study published 12 years ago to rave reviews as a frank, accurate and authoritative narrative of events which should be required reading for anyone hoping to understand what had been going on in the North' Irish Independent 'I would strongly advocate that it be made compulsory reading for everyone in Northern Ireland because for the first time it is our history, all of it warts and all, presented in a clear and understandable way' Irish News 'Extraordinarily well-balanced, sane, comprehensive and rich in sober understatement' Glasgow Herald 'Compellingly written and very even-handed. By far the clearest account of what happened in the Northern Ireland conflict and more importantly why it happened' Irish News David McKittrick has reported on the Northern Ireland troubles since the 1970s. After working for the Irish Times and BBC he has been Ireland correspondent of the London Independent since 1985. Awards include the Orwell Prize, correspondent of the year and Belfast journalist of the year. David McVea graduated in politics and modern history from Queen's University, Belfast, and has an MA from Sussex University.
He was head of the politics department of a Belfast grammar school where he taught both history and political studies.

Customers who bought this item also bought

American Dirt

Availability: In Stock
An Instant New York Times #1 Bestseller An Instant Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller Over 750,000 copies sold globally An Oprah's Book Club Pick A BBC Radio 4 Book at Bedtime
€12.00 €12.15

Still Life

Availability: In Stock
The CWA Dagger-winning first Louise Penny novel, reissued and repackaged by Sphere
€12.15

The Paris Library: a novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

Availability: In Stock
Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.
€13.99

The Guest Book: The New York Times Bestseller

Availability: In Stock
€12.00 €12.15