Search

Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know

ISBN: 9780241354421
€12.95
Colm Toibin turns his incisive gaze to three of Ireland's greatest writers, Oscar Wilde, W.B. Yeats and James Joyce, and their earliest influences: their fathers.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
52 Points

An intimate study of three of Ireland's greatest writers from one of its best-loved contemporary voices

'A father...is a necessary evil.' Stephen Dedalus in Ulysses

In Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know Colm Toibin turns his incisive gaze to three of Ireland's greatest writers, Oscar Wilde, W.B. Yeats and James Joyce, and their earliest influences: their fathers. From Wilde's doctor father, a brilliant statistician and amateur archaeologist, who was taken to court by an obsessed lover in a strange premonition of what would happen to his son; to Yeats' father, an impoverished artist and brilliant letter-writer who could never finish apainting; to John Stanislus Joyce, a singer, drinker and story-teller, a man unwilling to provide for his large family, whom his son James memorialised in his work.

Colm Toibin illuminates not only the complex relationships between three of the greatest writers in the English language and their fathers, but also illustrates the surprising ways they surface in their work.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

An intimate study of three of Ireland's greatest writers from one of its best-loved contemporary voices

'A father...is a necessary evil.' Stephen Dedalus in Ulysses

In Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know Colm Toibin turns his incisive gaze to three of Ireland's greatest writers, Oscar Wilde, W.B. Yeats and James Joyce, and their earliest influences: their fathers. From Wilde's doctor father, a brilliant statistician and amateur archaeologist, who was taken to court by an obsessed lover in a strange premonition of what would happen to his son; to Yeats' father, an impoverished artist and brilliant letter-writer who could never finish apainting; to John Stanislus Joyce, a singer, drinker and story-teller, a man unwilling to provide for his large family, whom his son James memorialised in his work.

Colm Toibin illuminates not only the complex relationships between three of the greatest writers in the English language and their fathers, but also illustrates the surprising ways they surface in their work.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Asking for It

Availability: In Stock
BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated. For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.
€12.00 €12.15

At Home

Availability: Out of Stock - Cannot Order At Present
The author was struck one day by the thought that we devote a lot more time to studying the battles and wars of history than to considering what history really consists of. This inspired him to start a journey around his own house, considering how the ordinary things in life came to be. This book is about the history of the way we live.
€12.95

The Silence of the Girls

Availability: In Stock
€12.00 €12.15

The Spinning Heart

Availability: In Stock
Winner of the Guardian First Book Award 2013Shortlisted for the Dublin IMPAC Literary Award 2014Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2013Winner of Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2012'Funny, moving and beautifully written' Edna O'Brien In the aftermath of Ireland's financial collapse, dangerous tensions surface in an Irish town.
€12.15