close
Facebook

Leo: Leo Varadkar - A Very Modern Taoiseach: 2018

Binding: Paperback
Pages: 275
Pub Date: 21/08/2018
Publisher: Biteback Publishing
ISBN: 9781785903700
Availability: In Stock
Quick overview The first biography of new Irish Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar, an inspiring tale of personal struggle and political intrigue. Varadkar has been both highly visible and a key player in negotiations between the EU and Britain over Brexit and issues surrounding the Irish border with the North.
€20.30
Product description

The emergence of Leo Varadkar in Irish politics and his election to the post of Taoiseach is a remarkable tale from any perspective. Journalists Philip Ryan and Niall O'Connor tell the inside story of how the son of an Indian immigrant battled against adversity and with his own sexuality to become the youngest and first openly gay Prime Minister of the Republic of Ireland.

This will be the definitive account of how an outspoken young politician has shaped Ireland's future by coming out as gay in full view of the public before going on to orchestrate a secret two-year campaign which saw him become leader of the country. Along the way, he put his political career on the line to defend police whistleblowers and survived an internal party purge after he backed the loser in a failed leadership heave against former Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny.

In the book, family, friends and colleagues have for the first time provided an exclusive behind-the-scenes account of Mr Varadkar's meteoric rise to power. Ryan and O'Connor, both prominent political correspondents working for Ireland's biggest newspaper group, Independent News and Media, have spent months analysing in detail Mr Varadkar's personal and political background to comprehensively tell the story of the most talked-about Irish politician in decades.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Almost Love

€18.95
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... If it doesn't hurt, it's not love: the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of Asking for It. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult

Cristiano Ronaldo: The Rocket

€8.10
The Rocket tells of how Cristiano Ronaldo overcame poverty and childhood illness to become one of the best football players ever.

The Breadwinner

€9.45
A compelling and engrossing story about a girl living in war-torn Afghanistan under Taliban rule. Parvana must disguise herself as a boy to save her mother and sisters from starvation. Every day, it is a fight for survival. But even in despair lies hope ...