Search

Last Stories

ISBN: 9780241337783
€12.15
The last collection of short stories by the master storyteller William Trevor.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
49 Points

'What a writer he was; he could flip over a sentence so gently, and showthe underbelly in a heartbeat. His work is always quietly compassionate' Elizabeth Strout

In this final collection of ten exquisite, perceptive and profound stories, William Trevor probes into the depths of the human spirit. Here we encounter a tutor and his pupil, whose lives are thrown into turmoil when they meet again years later; a young girl who discovers the mother she believed dead is alive and well; and a piano-teacher who accepts her pupil's theft in exchange for his beautiful music. These gorgeous stories - the last that Trevor wrote before his death - affirm his place as one of the world's greatest storytellers.

'Trevor is a master of both language and storytelling' Hilary Mantel

'He is one of the great short-story writers, at his best the equal of Chekhov' John Banville

'The greatest living writer of short stories in the English language' New Yorker

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

'What a writer he was; he could flip over a sentence so gently, and showthe underbelly in a heartbeat. His work is always quietly compassionate' Elizabeth Strout

In this final collection of ten exquisite, perceptive and profound stories, William Trevor probes into the depths of the human spirit. Here we encounter a tutor and his pupil, whose lives are thrown into turmoil when they meet again years later; a young girl who discovers the mother she believed dead is alive and well; and a piano-teacher who accepts her pupil's theft in exchange for his beautiful music. These gorgeous stories - the last that Trevor wrote before his death - affirm his place as one of the world's greatest storytellers.

'Trevor is a master of both language and storytelling' Hilary Mantel

'He is one of the great short-story writers, at his best the equal of Chekhov' John Banville

'The greatest living writer of short stories in the English language' New Yorker

Customers who bought this item also bought

Idaho

Availability: In Stock
One hot August day a family drives to a mountain clearing to collect birch wood. The two daughters, June and May, aged nine and six, drink lemonade, swat away horseflies, bicker, sing snatches of songs as they while away the time.
€13.50

There are Little Kingdoms: Stories by Kevin Barry

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Books Favourite Book of all Time. Barry's debut collection offers a hilarious and insightful view of contemporary Irish life, while also displaying a subtle yet sophisticated literary voice. (Joanne Sullivan, Dun laoghaire)
€9.99 €10.00

An American Marriage

Availability: In Stock
Nominated for the 2020 International DUBLIN Literary Award. WINNER Women's Prize for Fiction 2019. The stunning and heart-breaking new novel from New York Times-bestselling author Tayari Jones
€12.15

Scrublands

Availability: In Stock
A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper
€13.50