Search

Invisible Women: Exposing Data Bias in a World Designed for Men

€12.95
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
52 Points

From cities to medicine, car seatbelts to office temperatures, and even phone sizes, the society we live in and everything in it has been built by men for men. This isn’t an opinion, it’s a fact. Caroline Criado Perez uses data - and a lack of data - to prove the gender bias that exists in front of us every day. Comprehensive and truly enthralling, I would put this award-winning science book into the hands of any person of any gender.

Recommended by David Tierney, Dubray Galway


THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

Discover the shocking gender bias that affects our everyday lives

Imagine a world where your phone is too big for your hand, where your doctor prescribes a drug that is wrong for your body, where in a car accident you are 47% more likely to be seriously injured, where every week the countless hours of work you do are not recognised or valued.

If any of this sounds familiar, chances are that you're a woman.

Invisible Women shows us how, in a world largely built for and by men, we are systematically ignoring half the population. It exposes the gender data gap - a gap in our knowledge that is at the root of perpetual, systemic discrimination against women, and that has created a pervasive but invisible bias with a profound effect on women's lives.

From government policy and medical research, to technology, workplaces, urban planning and the media, Invisible Women reveals the biased data that excludes women.

Caroline Criado Perez brings together for the first time an impressive range of case studies, stories and new research from across the world that illustrate the hidden ways in which women are forgotten, and the impact this has on their health and well-being. In making the case for change, this powerful and provocative book will make you see the world anew.

'HELL YES. This is one of those books that has the potential to change things - a monumental piece of research' Caitlin Moran

Products specifications
Publisher Unknown
ISBN 9781784706289
Published 05/03/2020
Binding Paperback
Pages 304
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

From cities to medicine, car seatbelts to office temperatures, and even phone sizes, the society we live in and everything in it has been built by men for men. This isn’t an opinion, it’s a fact. Caroline Criado Perez uses data - and a lack of data - to prove the gender bias that exists in front of us every day. Comprehensive and truly enthralling, I would put this award-winning science book into the hands of any person of any gender.

Recommended by David Tierney, Dubray Galway


THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

Discover the shocking gender bias that affects our everyday lives

Imagine a world where your phone is too big for your hand, where your doctor prescribes a drug that is wrong for your body, where in a car accident you are 47% more likely to be seriously injured, where every week the countless hours of work you do are not recognised or valued.

If any of this sounds familiar, chances are that you're a woman.

Invisible Women shows us how, in a world largely built for and by men, we are systematically ignoring half the population. It exposes the gender data gap - a gap in our knowledge that is at the root of perpetual, systemic discrimination against women, and that has created a pervasive but invisible bias with a profound effect on women's lives.

From government policy and medical research, to technology, workplaces, urban planning and the media, Invisible Women reveals the biased data that excludes women.

Caroline Criado Perez brings together for the first time an impressive range of case studies, stories and new research from across the world that illustrate the hidden ways in which women are forgotten, and the impact this has on their health and well-being. In making the case for change, this powerful and provocative book will make you see the world anew.

'HELL YES. This is one of those books that has the potential to change things - a monumental piece of research' Caitlin Moran

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Temple House Vanishing

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. A stunning mystery and a searing portrait of power, jealousy and desire from one of Ireland's most exciting new voices. An extraordinary debut with huge bestseller potential.
€14.99 €17.55

RHS Gardening Through the Year

Availability: In Stock
€25.95

Where the Crawdads Sing

Availability: In Stock
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.
€12.00 €12.15

Man's Search for Meaning: The Classic Tribute to Hope from the Holocaust

Availability: In Stock
A prominent Viennese psychiatrist before the war, Viktor Frankl was uniquely able to observe the way that both he and others in Auschwitz coped with the experience. He noticed that it was the men who comforted others and who gave away their last piece of bread who survived the longest.
€10.80