Search

In the Key of Code

ISBN: 9781406389333
€9.45
A Dubray Favourite for October
Availability: In Stock
+ -
38 Points

Emmy perceives the world through music. Balancing the anxious crescendo of making friends and starting coding classes, her passions interweave intriguingly, while themes of bullying and acceptance give great warmth.

- Aisling O'Reilly, Dubray Dun Laoghaire

An original, inventive and heart-warming novel from an exciting debut author about a lonely new girl and an unlikely friendship formed in a school code club that will appeal to fans of Sarah Crossan.

When twelve-year-old Emmy's musical family moves to California so her dad can take a job with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, Emmy has never felt more out of tune. But when she ends up in a school computer science club, she finds that she can understand code through a language she is familiar with: music. Slowly, Emmy makes friends with Abigail and the two girls start to discover their voices through the programming language of Java.

Extraordinarily crafted, the novel begins to incorporate Java's syntax and concepts as Emmy, and ultimately the reader, learns to think in code. By the end, Emmy doesn't feel like a wrong note, but like a musician in the world's most beautiful symphony.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

Emmy perceives the world through music. Balancing the anxious crescendo of making friends and starting coding classes, her passions interweave intriguingly, while themes of bullying and acceptance give great warmth.

- Aisling O'Reilly, Dubray Dun Laoghaire

An original, inventive and heart-warming novel from an exciting debut author about a lonely new girl and an unlikely friendship formed in a school code club that will appeal to fans of Sarah Crossan.

When twelve-year-old Emmy's musical family moves to California so her dad can take a job with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, Emmy has never felt more out of tune. But when she ends up in a school computer science club, she finds that she can understand code through a language she is familiar with: music. Slowly, Emmy makes friends with Abigail and the two girls start to discover their voices through the programming language of Java.

Extraordinarily crafted, the novel begins to incorporate Java's syntax and concepts as Emmy, and ultimately the reader, learns to think in code. By the end, Emmy doesn't feel like a wrong note, but like a musician in the world's most beautiful symphony.

Customers who bought this item also bought

An Irish Nature Year

Availability: In Stock
Call it a daily meditation on the world around us for nature-lovers and nature newbies alike, An Irish Nature Year gleefully explores the small mysteries of the seasons as they unfold - Who's cutting perfect circles in your roses? Which birds wear feathery trousers? And what, exactly, is an amethyst deceiver?
€20.25

koala who could

Availability: In Stock
Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change
€9.45

The Detective Dog

Availability: In Stock
Join Nell the Detective and help solve the mystery of the missing books in The Detective Dog.
€9.45

Last Chance Hotel

Availability: In Stock
Seth is the oppressed kitchen boy at the remote Last Chance Hotel. But when a strange gathering of magicians arrives for dinner, their leader is poisoned. A locked-room murder investigation ensues - and Seth is the main suspect. Can he solve the mystery and clear his name, especially when magic's afoot?
€9.45