You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search

In Kiltumper: A Year in an Irish Garden

ISBN: 9781526632654
€22.99
€25.65
A warm-hearted and uplifting memoir of life in rural Ireland, and a meditation on the power, beauty and importance of the natural world
Availability: In Stock
+ -
92 Points

'I read it with enormous pleasure ... Heartbreaking, uplifting ... A delight' TIM PEARS

'I loved their two voices, truthful and gentle and generous' GEORGINA HARDING

'Magical ... Arresting ... Read it and be restored to yourself' IRISH CENTRAL
____________________

Thirty-four years ago, when they were in their twenties, Niall Williams and Christine Breen made the impulsive decision to leave their lives in New York City and move to Christine's ancestral home in the town of Kiltumper in rural Ireland. In the decades that followed, the pair dedicated themselves to writing, gardening and living a life that followed the rhythms of the earth.

In 2019, with Christine in the final stages of recovery from cancer and the land itself threatened by the arrival of turbines just one farm over, Niall and Christine decided to document a year of living in their garden and in their small corner of a rapidly changing world. Proceeding month-by-month through the year, this is the story of a garden in all its many splendours and a couple who have made their life observing its wonders.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

'I read it with enormous pleasure ... Heartbreaking, uplifting ... A delight' TIM PEARS

'I loved their two voices, truthful and gentle and generous' GEORGINA HARDING

'Magical ... Arresting ... Read it and be restored to yourself' IRISH CENTRAL
____________________

Thirty-four years ago, when they were in their twenties, Niall Williams and Christine Breen made the impulsive decision to leave their lives in New York City and move to Christine's ancestral home in the town of Kiltumper in rural Ireland. In the decades that followed, the pair dedicated themselves to writing, gardening and living a life that followed the rhythms of the earth.

In 2019, with Christine in the final stages of recovery from cancer and the land itself threatened by the arrival of turbines just one farm over, Niall and Christine decided to document a year of living in their garden and in their small corner of a rapidly changing world. Proceeding month-by-month through the year, this is the story of a garden in all its many splendours and a couple who have made their life observing its wonders.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Comrades: A Lifetime of Friendships

Availability: In Stock
Exploring the many and varied friendships that have shaped her life, Comrades is the stunning new essay collection from the critically acclaimed author of Elsewhere. For fans of Emilie Pine, Elizabeth Day and Pandora Sykes.
€20.25

The Presidents' Letters: An Unexpected History of the Irish State

Availability: In Stock
With over 400 letters, memos, cards, telegrams, drawings, notes and photographs, The Presidents’ Letters reveals a personal and unexpected story of Ireland since the inauguration of our first president, Douglas Hyde.
€24.95

A Poet for Every Day of the Year

Availability: In Stock
An inspirational, life affirming, provocative, moving or entertaining poem for each and every day of the year.
€21.99 €27.40

Magpie

Availability: In Stock
The exhilarating new novel from the bestselling author of The Party and How To Fail.
€17.55