You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search

Grief is the Thing with Feathers

ISBN: 9780571327232
€12.55
DUBRAY STAFF RECOMMENDED READ. In a London flat, two young boys face the unbearable sadness of their mother's sudden death. Their father, a Ted Hughes scholar and scruffy romantic, imagines a future of well-meaning visitors and emptiness. In this moment of despair they are visited by Crow - antagonist, trickster, healer, babysitter.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
50 Points

Dubray Staff Review:
Porter's debut has been described as “part novella, part polyphonic fable, part essay on grief”. It is all of these, and much more. It is an exquisitely written, surreal, poignant novel where hardly a page goes by without a sentence so perfectly polished it demands to be re-read. Set in London, it follows two boys trying to deal with their mother's death. Their father, a Ted Hughes scholar, has lost his wife and while he comes to terms with "the perplexing slow release of sadness for ever and ever and ever", the children must accept that they live in a world where "holiday and school [have become] the same." Perfect for fans of A Whole Life, this is one of those brief books that you will read quickly, but find impossible to forget.
Recommended by Tony, Dubray Blackrock


In a London flat, two young boys face the unbearable sadness of their mother's sudden death. Their father, a Ted Hughes scholar and scruffy romantic, imagines a future of well-meaning visitors and emptiness. In this moment of despair they are visited by Crow - antagonist, trickster, healer, babysitter. This sentimental bird is drawn to the grieving family and threatens to stay until they no longer need him. As weeks turn to months and the pain of loss gives way to memories, the little unit of three starts to heal. In this extraordinary debut - part novella, part polyphonic fable, part essay on grief - Max Porter's compassion and bravura style combine to dazzling effect. Full of unexpected humour and profound emotional truth, Grief Is the Thing with Feathers marks the arrival of a thrilling new talent.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

Dubray Staff Review:
Porter's debut has been described as “part novella, part polyphonic fable, part essay on grief”. It is all of these, and much more. It is an exquisitely written, surreal, poignant novel where hardly a page goes by without a sentence so perfectly polished it demands to be re-read. Set in London, it follows two boys trying to deal with their mother's death. Their father, a Ted Hughes scholar, has lost his wife and while he comes to terms with "the perplexing slow release of sadness for ever and ever and ever", the children must accept that they live in a world where "holiday and school [have become] the same." Perfect for fans of A Whole Life, this is one of those brief books that you will read quickly, but find impossible to forget.
Recommended by Tony, Dubray Blackrock


In a London flat, two young boys face the unbearable sadness of their mother's sudden death. Their father, a Ted Hughes scholar and scruffy romantic, imagines a future of well-meaning visitors and emptiness. In this moment of despair they are visited by Crow - antagonist, trickster, healer, babysitter. This sentimental bird is drawn to the grieving family and threatens to stay until they no longer need him. As weeks turn to months and the pain of loss gives way to memories, the little unit of three starts to heal. In this extraordinary debut - part novella, part polyphonic fable, part essay on grief - Max Porter's compassion and bravura style combine to dazzling effect. Full of unexpected humour and profound emotional truth, Grief Is the Thing with Feathers marks the arrival of a thrilling new talent.

Customers who bought this item also bought

New Collected Poems

Availability: Out of Stock
A new and updated version of the 'Collected Poems of Eavan Boland', Ireland's pioneering premier female poet.
€19.25

The Sympathizer

Availability: In Stock
A profound, startling, and beautifully crafted debut novel, The Sympathizer is the story of a man of two minds, offering a unique perspective on the Vietnam war. Destined to become a modern classic
€12.55

Educated

Availability: In Stock
With the acute insight that distinguishes all great writers, from her singular experience Westover has crafted a universal coming-of-age story that gets to the heart of what an education is and what it offers: the perspective to see one's life through new eyes, and the will to change it.
€13.95

A Ghost in the Throat

Availability: In Stock
Winner of the An Post Irish Book Awards Non-Fiction Book of the Year... A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... A fluid hybrid of essay and autofiction to explore the ways in which a life can be changed in response to the discovery of another's - in this case, Eibhli n Dubh Ni Chonaill's Caoineadh Airt Ui Laoghaire, famously referred to by Peter Levi as `the greatest poem written in either Ireland or Britain during the eighteenth century.'
€16.00