You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search

Empireland: How Imperialism Has Shaped Modern Britain

ISBN: 9780241445310
€13.50
Availability: In Stock
+ -
54 Points

***FEATURING UPDATED AND NEW MATERIAL***

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

'The real remedy is education of the kind that Sanghera has embraced - accepting, not ignoring, the past' Gerard deGroot, The Times
_____________________________________________________

EMPIRE explains why there are millions of Britons living worldwide.
EMPIRE explains Brexit and the feeling that we are exceptional.
EMPIRE explains our distrust of cleverness.
EMPIRE explains Britain's particular brand of racism.

Strangely hidden from view, the British Empire remains a subject of both shame and glorification. In his bestselling book, Sathnam Sanghera shows how our imperial past is everywhere: from how we live and think to the foundation of the NHS and even our response to the COVID-19 crisis.

At a time of great division, when we are arguing about what it means to be British, Empireland is a groundbreaking revelation - a much-needed and enlightening portrait of contemporary British society, shining a light on everything that usually gets left unsaid.
_______________________________________________________

'Empireland takes a perfectly-judged approach to its contentious but necessary subject' Jonathan Coe

'I only wish this book has been around when I was at school' Sadiq Khan, Mayor of London

'This remarkable book shines the brightest of lights into some of the darkest and most misunderstood corners of our shared history' James O'Brien

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

***FEATURING UPDATED AND NEW MATERIAL***

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

'The real remedy is education of the kind that Sanghera has embraced - accepting, not ignoring, the past' Gerard deGroot, The Times
_____________________________________________________

EMPIRE explains why there are millions of Britons living worldwide.
EMPIRE explains Brexit and the feeling that we are exceptional.
EMPIRE explains our distrust of cleverness.
EMPIRE explains Britain's particular brand of racism.

Strangely hidden from view, the British Empire remains a subject of both shame and glorification. In his bestselling book, Sathnam Sanghera shows how our imperial past is everywhere: from how we live and think to the foundation of the NHS and even our response to the COVID-19 crisis.

At a time of great division, when we are arguing about what it means to be British, Empireland is a groundbreaking revelation - a much-needed and enlightening portrait of contemporary British society, shining a light on everything that usually gets left unsaid.
_______________________________________________________

'Empireland takes a perfectly-judged approach to its contentious but necessary subject' Jonathan Coe

'I only wish this book has been around when I was at school' Sadiq Khan, Mayor of London

'This remarkable book shines the brightest of lights into some of the darkest and most misunderstood corners of our shared history' James O'Brien

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Man Who Died Twice

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... Effortlessly balancing action and detection with humour, warmth and humanity, this is a brilliant and enjoyable read.’ – Karina, Dundrum The second gripping novel in the Thursday Murder Club series by TV presenter Richard Osman!
€13.99 €17.55

Aldrin Adams and the Cheese Nightmares

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Favourite... A brilliantly funny, heart-warming adventure about a boy with the world's most unusual and stinky super-power! Perfect for fans of David Baddiel and Sam Copeland.
€10.99 €13.00

Gangsta Granny Strikes Again!

Availability: In Stock
Gangsta Granny Strikes Again! is an extraordinarily brilliant companion to David’s much-loved and bestselling book Gangsta Granny, which debuted at number one on publication and went on to become the biggest-selling children’s book of the decade. Critically acclaimed, and a favourite of Walliams readers across the globe, Gangsta Granny has since inspired a BBC film, a play and even a theme-park ride.
€12.99 €17.55