Search

Catch and Kill: Lies, Spies, and a Conspiracy to Protect Predators

€17.99
€20.30
Catch and Kill continues Ronan Farrow's award-winning investigation into sexual misconduct and the machine deployed by powerful men to silence survivors of abuse and threaten reporters chasing those survivors' stories.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
72 Points

Catch and Kill continues Ronan Farrow's award-winning investigation into sexual misconduct and the machine deployed by powerful men to silence survivors of abuse and threaten reporters chasing those survivors' stories. With original reporting and stunning revelations, Catch and Kill will tell in full, for the first time, how far private investigators, former spies, high-priced lawyers and embattled executives went to terrorize, intimidate and silence the women whose stories helped launch an international conversation on sexual misconduct and the abuse of power.

Catch and Kill comes after Farrow's year-long investigation into Harvey Weinstein, which resulted in the publication of the first allegations of rape and sexual assault against the Hollywood producer in the New Yorker, as well as Farrow's subsequent exposes about Weinstein's attorneys, private investigators and co-conspirators in the media. Those explosive stories were awarded the Pulitzer Prize gold medal for Public Service - the first ever awarded to a magazine, the George Polk Award for National Reporting, the National Magazine Award for Public Interest and the Livingston Award, among other honours.

Farrow tells both a deeply personal story about a reporter grappling with how much to put on the line to protect the truth, and one that expands our understanding of the forces in law, politics and media that maintained a conspiracy of silence around Weinstein and other men in power committing gross abuses with impunity. It documents dramatic acts of courage and sacrifice - and of betrayal and cowardice - from law-enforcement agencies to newsrooms. It pulls back the curtain on a world of threats, shadowy sources and undercover operatives drawn from elite, international intelligence agencies. And it exposes new twists that connect several of the most significant stories of the past year, offering one of the essential records of the #MeToo movement.

Products specifications
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN 9780708899267
Published 25/04/2019
Binding Paperback
Pages 320
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

Catch and Kill continues Ronan Farrow's award-winning investigation into sexual misconduct and the machine deployed by powerful men to silence survivors of abuse and threaten reporters chasing those survivors' stories. With original reporting and stunning revelations, Catch and Kill will tell in full, for the first time, how far private investigators, former spies, high-priced lawyers and embattled executives went to terrorize, intimidate and silence the women whose stories helped launch an international conversation on sexual misconduct and the abuse of power.

Catch and Kill comes after Farrow's year-long investigation into Harvey Weinstein, which resulted in the publication of the first allegations of rape and sexual assault against the Hollywood producer in the New Yorker, as well as Farrow's subsequent exposes about Weinstein's attorneys, private investigators and co-conspirators in the media. Those explosive stories were awarded the Pulitzer Prize gold medal for Public Service - the first ever awarded to a magazine, the George Polk Award for National Reporting, the National Magazine Award for Public Interest and the Livingston Award, among other honours.

Farrow tells both a deeply personal story about a reporter grappling with how much to put on the line to protect the truth, and one that expands our understanding of the forces in law, politics and media that maintained a conspiracy of silence around Weinstein and other men in power committing gross abuses with impunity. It documents dramatic acts of courage and sacrifice - and of betrayal and cowardice - from law-enforcement agencies to newsrooms. It pulls back the curtain on a world of threats, shadowy sources and undercover operatives drawn from elite, international intelligence agencies. And it exposes new twists that connect several of the most significant stories of the past year, offering one of the essential records of the #MeToo movement.

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Maltese Falcon

Availability: In Stock
One of the greatest crime novels of the 20th century.
€12.15

Where the Crawdads Sing

Availability: In Stock
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.
€15.99 €18.95

Under Occupation

Availability: In Stock
Spying and subterfuge in occupied Paris from one of the great masters of the spy genre. Inspired by the true story of Polish prisoners in Nazi Germany, who smuggled valuable intelligence to the French resistance.
€17.99 €20.30

How Jesus Became God

Availability: Out of Stock
€22.30