close
Facebook

The Wicked Cometh

Binding: Paperback
Pages: 352
Pub Date: 01/02/2018
ISBN: 9781473661387
Availability: In Stock
Quick overview A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... Even in the darkest of times, you cannot bury the truth . . . A debut historical novel that will appeal to fans of Sarah Waters and The Essex Serpent.
€17.55
€15.99
Product description

1831: Hester White is desperate to move up in society. Her chance comes when a gentleman offers her an education through his sister, Rebekah. Yet these are dark times in London, with a disappearance every week, and Hester and Rebekah soon realise that the disappearances are murders. When they set out to solve them, they draw unwelcome attention to themselves. This is a lush, immersive read that’s extremely hard to put down, with gothic tropes, fantastic characters and a twisty plot.

Recommended by Helen Corcoran, Dubray Dun Laoghaire

The Wicked Cometh will take readers on a heart-racing journey through backstreets swathed with fog to richly curtained, brightly lit country houses; from the libraries and colleges of gentlemen, to sawdust-strewn gin palaces where ne'er-do-wells drink and scheme, all told through the eyes of a heroine with nothing to lose. The year is 1831.Down murky alleyways and in filthy hovels, acts of unspeakable wickedness take place and vulnerable people begin to disappear from the streets. Out of these shadows comes Hester White, a young woman who is desperate to escape the slums by any means possible.When Hester is thrust into the world of the aristocratic Brock family, she leaps at the chance to improve her station in life under the tutelage of the mysterious Rebekah Brock. But both she and Rebekah are lured into the most sinister of investigations as whispers from Hester's old life return to poison the present. Something is lurking in the black heart of their city, and it is more depraved than either of them could ever imagine . . .

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Educated

€18.95
€17.00
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... With the acute insight that distinguishes all great writers, Westover has crafted, from her singular experience, a universal coming-of-age story, one that gets to the heart of what an education is and what it offers - the perspective to see one's life through new eyes, and the will to change it.