Search
Picture for category Read Irish Women

Read Irish Women

The Read Irish Women Challenge was born in 2019, the creation of our colleague Karina Clifford. It takes the form of a series of prompts, each asking you to respond with the title of a book by an Irish woman. It has proven hugely popular on social media, with readers of all ages and in many countries joining in to share their favourites. Here are some of our favourite new books by Irish women.

3 Items in Grid 4 Items in Grid List
Filter by attributes

The Dark Room

Availability: In Stock
A pacey and thrilling tale from the author of the number one Irish Times bestseller, Keep Your Eyes on Me.
€13.99 €17.55

Here is the Beehive

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... What happens when you lose something the world never knew was yours? A shattering and compulsive novel about transgression and desire, secrecy and loss.
€13.99 €17.55

It's That Time of Year

Availability: In Stock
'Warm ... uplifting -- Roisin Meaney is a gifted storyteller' Sheila O'Flanagan, bestselling author It's the day before the wedding ...
€14.99 €18.95

Nothing But Blue Sky

Availability: In Stock
A wise, thoughtful, beautifully observed and impossible-to-put-down portrait of a marriage.
€14.99 €17.55

The Truth Must Dazzle Gradually

Availability: In Stock
On an island off the west coast of Ireland, the Moone family are shattered by tragedy. An immersive and heartfelt exploration of family and love.
€14.99 €17.55

Scenes of a Graphic Nature

Availability: In Stock
A darkly comic and searingly honest novel about going back to your roots by the acclaimed author of Promising Young Women
€14.99 €18.95

You Have to Make Your Own Fun Around Here

Availability: In Stock
A DUBRAY STAFF RECOMMENDED READ. A captivating, dark portrayal of youth, friendship and the fine line that separates admiration from envy
€14.99 €17.55

Tatty

Availability: In Stock
Funny, tragic, and unsentimental, Christine Dwyer Hickey’s Tatty is a devastatingly affecting insight into the mind of a child.
€11.95

The Hungry Road

Availability: Out of Stock
A story of courage, hardship and survival against the odds - this is the definitive account of the Great Irish Famine.
€14.99 €17.55

Handiwork

Availability: In Stock
A glimpse into the process of one Ireland's best writers, handiwork is Baume's non-fiction debut, written with the keen eye for nature and beauty as well as the extraordinary versatility Sara Baume's fans have come to expect.
€13.00

Below the Big Blue Sky

Availability: In Stock
Below a Big Blue Sky will make you laugh, cry and shout with joy for the colourful, unruly Hayes family as they battle with the loss of their beloved Rabbit, the daughter, mother, sister and friend, who in her own crazy way taught each of them how to live, and goes on showing them how to love from beyond the grave.
€14.99 €17.55

Strange Hotel

Availability: Out of Stock
RECIEVE A FREE COPY OF 'MOUTHPIECES' BY EIMEAR MCBRIDE WITH YOUR ORDER. A nameless woman enters a non-descript hotel room she's been in once before, many years ago. 'Eimear McBride is that old fashioned thing, a genius.' Anne Enright
€15.50

The Weight of Love

Availability: In Stock
Robin and Ruth meet in the staff room of an East London school. Robin, desperate for a real connection, instantly falls in love. Powerless, Robin watches on as the girl he loves and his best friend begin a passionate and turbulent affair.
€15.99 €18.95

This Happy

Availability: In Stock
For readers of Eimear McBride, Anna Burns and Claire Louise Bennett, This Happy is a fervid, glowing-hot novel about relationships and the way the past informs the present from a hugely exciting new voice in contemporary literary fiction.
€16.99 €18.95

Her Kind

Availability: In Stock
€12.15

How to Fall Apart

Availability: In Stock
A memoir about what happens when your life goes drastically off the rails.
€16.99 €18.95

An Ocean Between Us

Availability: In Stock
A compelling and emotional novel of families and the secrets we keep...
€18.95

Oona

Availability: In Stock
Lyons' first novel gives voice to a female character on her fraught journey into adulthood and charts her evolution as an artist, as her adolescent dissociation is thawed through contact with the physical world, the materials of painting and her engagement with Irish community, culture and landscape.
€15.00

The Butchers

Availability: In Stock
DUBRAY STAFF RECOMMENDED READ. The first novel truly to capture the story of Ireland during the BSE crisis, shown through the small, deeply intimate stories of four people caught up in its churn.
€17.55