Search
Picture for category Read Irish Women

Read Irish Women

The Read Irish Women Challenge was born in 2019, the creation of our colleague Karina Clifford. It takes the form of a series of prompts, each asking you to respond with the title of a book by an Irish woman. It has proven hugely popular on social media, with readers of all ages and in many countries joining in to share their favourites. Here are some of our favourite new books by Irish women.

3 Items in Grid 4 Items in Grid List
Filter by attributes

Exciting Times

Availability: In Stock
* A Stylist 'Best new book for 2020' * Naoise Dolan explodes onto the scene with Exciting Times, a slyly humorous and scorchingly smart modern love story about three cynics in Hong Kong
€16.99 €18.95

Below the Big Blue Sky

Availability: In Stock
Below a Big Blue Sky will make you laugh, cry and shout with joy for the colourful, unruly Hayes family as they battle with the loss of their beloved Rabbit, the daughter, mother, sister and friend, who in her own crazy way taught each of them how to live, and goes on showing them how to love from beyond the grave.
€14.99 €17.55

The Wild Laughter

Availability: In Stock
Join Cúirt International Festival of Literature for a very special event celebrating the launch of The Wild Laughter, the latest novel from Caoilinn Hughes. Caoilinn will be joined in conversation by Kevin Barry. Visit cuirt.ie/events to book your ticket. An exhilarating, anarchic look at contemporary Ireland, from one of the country's most exciting new voices.
€15.99 €17.55

Actress

Availability: In Stock
This is the story of Irish theatre legend, Katherine O'Dell, as written by her daughter Norah. Katherine's life is a grand performance, with young Norah watching from the wings. As Norah uncovers her mother's secrets, she acquires a few of her own.
€15.99 €18.95

Scenes of a Graphic Nature

Availability: In Stock
A darkly comic and searingly honest novel about going back to your roots by the acclaimed author of Promising Young Women
€13.99 €18.95

This Happy

Availability: In Stock
For readers of Eimear McBride, Anna Burns and Claire Louise Bennett, This Happy is a fervid, glowing-hot novel about relationships and the way the past informs the present from a hugely exciting new voice in contemporary literary fiction.
€16.99 €18.95

The Weight of Love

Availability: In Stock
Robin and Ruth meet in the staff room of an East London school. Robin, desperate for a real connection, instantly falls in love. Powerless, Robin watches on as the girl he loves and his best friend begin a passionate and turbulent affair.
€15.99 €18.95

The Hungry Road

Availability: In Stock
A story of courage, hardship and survival against the odds - this is the definitive account of the Great Irish Famine.
€14.99 €17.55

Handiwork

Availability: In Stock
A glimpse into the process of one Ireland's best writers, handiwork is Baume's non-fiction debut, written with the keen eye for nature and beauty as well as the extraordinary versatility Sara Baume's fans have come to expect.
€13.00

How to Fall Apart

Availability: In Stock
A memoir about what happens when your life goes drastically off the rails.
€16.99 €18.95

Tatty

Availability: In Stock
Funny, tragic, and unsentimental, Christine Dwyer Hickey’s Tatty is a devastatingly affecting insight into the mind of a child.
€11.95

You Have to Make Your Own Fun Around Here

Availability: In Stock
A DUBRAY STAFF RECOMMENDED READ. A captivating, dark portrayal of youth, friendship and the fine line that separates admiration from envy
€14.99 €17.55

The Butchers

Availability: In Stock
DUBRAY STAFF RECOMMENDED READ. The first novel truly to capture the story of Ireland during the BSE crisis, shown through the small, deeply intimate stories of four people caught up in its churn.
€14.99 €17.55

Strange Hotel

Availability: In Stock
RECIEVE A FREE COPY OF 'MOUTHPIECES' BY EIMEAR MCBRIDE WITH YOUR ORDER. A nameless woman enters a non-descript hotel room she's been in once before, many years ago. 'Eimear McBride is that old fashioned thing, a genius.' Anne Enright
€14.99 €17.55

The Temple House Vanishing

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. A stunning mystery and a searing portrait of power, jealousy and desire from one of Ireland's most exciting new voices. An extraordinary debut with huge bestseller potential.
€14.99 €17.55

Oona

Availability: In Stock
Lyons' first novel gives voice to a female character on her fraught journey into adulthood and charts her evolution as an artist, as her adolescent dissociation is thawed through contact with the physical world, the materials of painting and her engagement with Irish community, culture and landscape.
€15.00

An Ocean Between Us

Availability: In Stock
A compelling and emotional novel of families and the secrets we keep...
€16.99 €18.95

After the Silence

Availability: Not Yet Available
This bold, brilliant, disturbing new novel Louise O'Neill shows that deadly secrets are devastating to those who hold them close.
€14.99 €17.55

As You Were

Availability: Not Yet Available
Wildly funny, desperately tragic, inventive and irrepressible, As You Were introduces a brilliant voice in Irish fiction with a book that is absolutely of our times.
€14.99 €18.95

Her Kind

Availability: In Stock
€12.00