An Actor's Life in 12 Productions

An Actor's Life in 12 Productions

By Oliver Ford Davies



Winner of the Society for Theatre Research Theatre Book Prize 2023 The director Peter Dews prophesied: "You'll be alright when you're forty, and even better when you're fifty." It turns out that Peter Dews was right, almost to the month. In a study of British theatre through a varied acting career spanning over sixty years, Oliver Ford Davies explores the many changes within the performing arts scene through his experiences on various stages, in a variety of productions, across the country. Davies charts the ups and downs of British theatre in the last sixty years, while offering a unique perspective on life behind the curtain and the daring journey from leaving behind an academic career and into acting. From Shakespeare to Shaw, Chekhov to Pirandello, this is the story of an actor initially struggling to make a mark before making his breakthrough at fifty, winning the Olivier Best Actor award and being propelled into thirty years of leading roles.

ISBN: 9781915352033


Out of Stock