Search
Picture for category Previously Recommended

Previously Recommended

Our booksellers are avid readers, and each month they choose their favourite new titles - here are some books previously chosen as Dubray Recommended Reads.

3 Items in Grid 4 Items in Grid List
Filter by attributes
  • Currently shopping by:
  • Pub Date: Custom
  • Pages: Custom

French Braid

Availability: In Stock
The major new novel from the beloved prize-winning author -- a brilliantly perceptive, painfully true and funny journey deep into one family's foibles, from the 1950s right up to the changed world of today When the kids are grown and Mercy Garrett gradually moves herself out of the family home, everyone determines not to notice
€15.99 €19.55

Sea of Tranquility

Availability: In Stock
The award-winning, bestselling author of Station Eleven and The Glass Hotel returns with a novel of art, time, love and plague that takes the reader from Vancouver Island in 1912 to a dark colony of the moon three hundred years later, unfurling a story of humanity across centuries and space.
€15.99 €20.95

Daughter of the Moon Goddess (The Celestial Kingdom Duology, Book 1)

Availability: In Stock
Dubray Staff Recommended Read......Legends come to life in this stunning novel inspired by the myth of the moon goddess, Chang'e. Xingyin would do anything to free her mother from the exile placed upon her by capricious royals, but she could never have predicted the path she finds herself on in her attempt to do so. This is a story og filial devotion, perseverance, and love. Tan's lyrical writing will transport you to the world of magic and immortals. You'll never want to leave. by Gabriela Pop, Dubray Dun Laoghaire. A captivating debut fantasy inspired by the legend of the Chinese moon goddess. A young woman's quest to free her mother pits her against the most powerful immortal in the realm, setting her on a dangerous path where those she loves are not the only ones at risk...
€15.99 €18.15

Our Wives Under The Sea

Availability: In Stock
Dubray Staff Recommended Read......When Leah returns from a deep-sea mission that ended in a mysterious disaster, she isn’t the same as when she left. Something happened to her and the other crew members deep in the dark corners of the ocean, something that followed her back to land. Hauntingly lyrical and beautifully heart-breaking, Armfield’s debut novel is a powerful and tender reworking of the changeling myth; one that will have you racing to the next page while never wanting it to end. Recommended by Eoin Mulligan, Dubray Rathmines.
€16.99 €20.95

Grey Bees

Availability: In Stock
Dubray Staff Recommended Read... Summer is coming. Time to move the bees somewhere warm and lush, far away from the deafening sounds of war in Little Starhorodivka. For Sergeyich, one of the last residents living under occupation in this no-man’s land, daily life is hard and there’s been no electricity for years. He and his neighbour survive on vodka and honey while the bees winter in blissful ignorance. Penned by one of Ukraine’s finest writers, Grey Bees shows that life must go on, whatever the circumstances. Recommended by Mary Burnham, Dubray Dun Laoghaire.
€12.99 €13.95

Fierce Appetites

Availability: In Stock
Dubray Staff Recommend Read.... In this funny, opinionated, and quotable blend of memoir and medieval history, Boyle writes frankly about her life, family and scholarly work. Whether comparing the The Táin to the Marvel universe, or mocking the tendency to package druids, Newgrange and Cú Chulainn into “a mush of non-history with an Enya soundtrack”, her writing is both knowledgeable and provocative. I’ve rarely felt so amused, enlightened, and engaged by a book – one I want to press on everyone! Recommended by Karina Clifford, Dubray Dundrum.
€16.99 €20.95

Think of Me

Availability: In Stock
A heartbreaking new novel of grief, family and the enduring power of love from the author of We Must Be Brave
€14.99 €18.15

Gallant

Availability: In Stock
The Number 1 Sunday Times-bestselling novel, from the author of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, and A Darker Shade of Magic. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black and Susan Cooper.
€15.99 €19.55

The Watchers

Availability: In Stock
An Irish horror adventure set in the unknown forests of Galway, where humans are kept under observation by screaming creatures, from debut author A. M. Shine.
€11.99 €12.55

Bittersweet

Availability: In Stock
An uplifting and mind-shifting new book on the surprising power of being "too bittersweet", by the author of the megaselling phenomenon QUIET.
€16.99 €20.95

To Paradise

Availability: In Stock
The eagerly anticipated novel from Hanya Yanagihara, a brilliant exploration of inclusion and exclusion, race and empire, sexuality and disease, love and family.
€15.99 €20.95

Mother's Boy

Availability: In Stock
Dubray Staff Recommended Read......Patrick Gale is a storyteller of incredible skill, and this wonderful book is completely absorbing from the opening pages. He has an incredible eye for minute detail as well as dramatic set pieces, both of which are present in this hugely satisfying and affecting novel. Moving from coastal Cornwall to wartime Gibraltar and life on board a warship at sea, the early life of poet Charles Causley is brought vividly to life with richly detailed prose and populated by superbly realised characters. Recommended by Martin Shannon, Dubray Rathmines.
€16.99 €20.95

Homesickness

Availability: In Stock
A true follow-up to his electrifying debut collection, HOMESICKNESS marks Colin Barrett out as our most brilliantly original and captivating storyteller.
€16.99 €20.95

White City

Availability: In Stock
From the author of Bad Day in Blackrock, White City is a darkly funny, gripping and ultimately moving new novel about the agony of losing control of your life and learning hard truths about the person you thought you were
€10.99 €12.55

How to Gut a Fish

Availability: In Stock
Dubray Staff Recommended Read... This astounding debut collection from Irish writer Sheila Armstrong packs a punch. From the darkly atmospheric Holes to the jaw-dropping Instinct, you are taken on a journey through a multitude of landscapes, emotions and a truly unique cast of characters. Her brilliance lies in her use of unusual - and unsettling - similes and metaphors and her ability to ground the reader in evoking visceral bodily sensations. If you’re a fan of Emma Donoghue or Deirdre Sullivan, you need this book. Recommended by Caoimhe Coleman, Dubray Cork.
€14.99 €18.15

Nine Lives

Availability: In Stock
The envelope is unremarkable. But for the nine complete strangers who receive it - each of them recognising just one name, their own, on the enclosed list - it will be the most life altering letter they ever receive.
€14.99 €18.15

The Winter Guest

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read.....A gripping, atmospheric thriller set during the War of Independance. When an IRA ambush goes terribly wrong, a heroine of the Rising is shot dead. Yet the IRA insist she was alive when they left teh scene and someone else is responsible for her murder. Her ex-fiance Tom Harkin, back from the Front and now an IRA intelligence officer, is sent to investigate. Swirling mist, long held secrets and a country at war make this a haunting and satisfying mystery. by Karina Clifford, Dubray Dundrum.
€15.99 €17.80

The War for Gloria

Availability: In Stock
From one of America's finest writers: a dramatic and heartbreaking novel about a mother and son's relationship threatened by illness and a father's malice.
€13.99 €15.35

Devotion

Availability: In Stock
Dubray Staff Recommended Read......From the author of Burial Rites comes a compelling novel set in 1830's Prussia, where free spirits Hanne, and outsider in her strict Lutheran family, meets fellow teenager Thea and the two quickly become inseperable. When the Lutheran community flee persecution, they embark on an arduous journey to South Australia, where they attempt to form a new life. Through grief and hardship, Hanne and Thea's bond intensifies in this beautufully written story of love and devotion by Mairead Gallagher, Dubray Support Office.
€14.99 €20.95