close
Facebook

The Immortalists

Binding: Hardback
Pages: 416
Pub Date: 09/01/2018
ISBN: 9781472244994
Quick overview A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... 'It's amazing how good this book is' says Karen Joy Fowler: discover Chloe Benjamin's THE IMMORTALISTS, a sweeping family drama for fans of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and FATES AND FURIES.
€20.30
€16.99
Product description

Would you live your life differently if you knew the day of your death? When the four Gold siblings visit a psychic one hot and listless summer afternoon, this question becomes all-consuming. Daniel, Katya, Varya and Simon take wildly different paths in response: inspired, haunted, driven or resistant to the premonition of what is to come. The Immortalists is an intense portrait of sibling love, a tender exploration of grief and mortality, and a breathless exhortation to live your life your own way.

Maria Dickenson, Dubray Head Office

'For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. It's amazing how good this book is' Karen Joy FowlerIt's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes.Over the years that follow, the siblings must choose how to live with the prophecies the fortune-teller gave them that day. Will they accept, ignore, cheat or defy them? Golden-boy Simon escapes to San Francisco, searching for love; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician; eldest son Daniel tries to control fate as an army doctor after 9/11; and bookish Varya looks to science for the answers she craves.A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists is a story about how we live, how we die, and what we do with the time we have.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

A Gentleman in Moscow

€12.15
€12.00
21 June 1922 Count Alexander Rostov - recipient of the Order of Saint Andrew, member of the Jockey Club, Master of the Hunt - is escorted out of the Kremlin, across Red Square and through the elegant revolving doors of the Hotel Metropol. Instead of being taken to his usual suite, he is led to an attic room with a window the size of a chessboard.

Pachinko

€12.15
€12.00
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... A victorian epic transplanted to Japan, following a Korean family of immigrants through eight decades and four generations.

Doctor Socrates: Footballer, Philosopher, Legend

€25.70
The first full biography of Socrates, the maverick and revolutionary genius of Brazilian football, authorised by his family