Search

Holding Her Breath

ISBN: 9781844885466
€14.99
€17.55
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... A razor-sharp, moving and seriously entertaining novel about complicated love stories, ambition and grief - and a young woman coming fully into her powers.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
60 Points

'An exquisite debut novel from a fresh face in Irish literature. I was gripped from the start and swallowed up this emotional story in a day. Beth Crowe has had a breakdown and wants a fresh start at university. While there, she is haunted by rumours surrounding her famous grandfather's suicide. Eager to uncover more and learn about the man she never knew, she embarks on a journey to unearth family secrets through a tangled web of poetry and lost love.' -Recommended by Rhea Cassidy, Dubray Dun Laoghaire

A young woman comes of age in the shadow of her family's tragic past.

When Beth Crowe starts university, she is shadowed by the ghost of her potential as a competitive swimmer. Free to create a fresh identity for herself, she finds herself among people who adore the poetry of her grandfather, Benjamin Crowe, who died tragically before she was born. She embarks on a secret relationship - and on a quest to discover the truth about Benjamin and his widow, her beloved grandmother Lydia. The quest brings her into an archive that no scholar has ever seen, and to a person who knows things about her family that nobody else knows.

Holding Her Breath is a razor-sharp, moving and seriously entertaining novel about complicated love stories, ambition and grief - and a young woman coming fully into her powers.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Stunning debut novel
I read this novel in one heady rush, delighted with the knowledge I was in the hands of a writer who really knows what they're doing. This story of secrets, love, betrayal, family and friendship hooked me, but the clean fluid assured prose captivated me!
From: Karina | 14/06/2021 12:18
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Description

'An exquisite debut novel from a fresh face in Irish literature. I was gripped from the start and swallowed up this emotional story in a day. Beth Crowe has had a breakdown and wants a fresh start at university. While there, she is haunted by rumours surrounding her famous grandfather's suicide. Eager to uncover more and learn about the man she never knew, she embarks on a journey to unearth family secrets through a tangled web of poetry and lost love.' -Recommended by Rhea Cassidy, Dubray Dun Laoghaire

A young woman comes of age in the shadow of her family's tragic past.

When Beth Crowe starts university, she is shadowed by the ghost of her potential as a competitive swimmer. Free to create a fresh identity for herself, she finds herself among people who adore the poetry of her grandfather, Benjamin Crowe, who died tragically before she was born. She embarks on a secret relationship - and on a quest to discover the truth about Benjamin and his widow, her beloved grandmother Lydia. The quest brings her into an archive that no scholar has ever seen, and to a person who knows things about her family that nobody else knows.

Holding Her Breath is a razor-sharp, moving and seriously entertaining novel about complicated love stories, ambition and grief - and a young woman coming fully into her powers.

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Perfect Lie

Availability: In Stock
The internationally bestselling author of The Confession returns with a stunning new thriller that will keep you guessing right till the end.
€13.99 €17.55

The Paris Library: a novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

Availability: In Stock
Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.
€15.99 €18.90

Northern Spy

Availability: In Stock
The acclaimed author of Under the Harrow and A Double Life returns with her most thrilling novel to date: the story of two sisters who become entangled with the IRA.
€16.99 €18.95

The Killing Kind

Availability: In Stock
The incredible new thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author. 'A brilliant, breathless game of cat-and-mouse as Jane Casey brings her trademark authenticity to the London legal world. Fans of the Maeve Kerrigan series will love it' Erin Kelly, author of He Said/She Said
€13.99 €17.55