close
Facebook

Circe

Binding: Paperback
Pages: 352
Pub Date: 19/04/2018
ISBN: 9781408890073
Availability: In Stock
Quick overview A Dubray Staff Recommended Read...
€17.55
€15.99
Product description

Circe is the daughter of Helios, god of the sun. Having struggled to find her place among the gods, she turns to the mortal world for companionship. However, when her powers of witchcraft are discovered, she is banished to a remote island and it is here that her life truly begins, with Circe realising that she has more power than she ever imagined. Miller has weaved a stunning, page-turning epic, featuring a colourful cast of characters from Greek mythology and a magnificent protagonist.

Recommended by Lauren Creed, Dubray Rathmines

From the Orange Prize-winning, internationally bestselling author of The Song of Achilles comes the powerful story of the mythological witch Circe, inspired by Homer's Odyssey

Chosen as must-read book of 2018 by the Guardian, Independent, Mail on Sunday, Sunday Express and Stylist

In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe has neither the look nor the voice of divinity, and is scorned and rejected by her kin. Increasingly isolated, she turns to mortals for companionship, leading her to discover a power forbidden to the gods: witchcraft.

When love drives Circe to cast a dark spell, wrathful Zeus banishes her to the remote island of Aiaia. There she learns to harness her occult craft, drawing strength from nature. But she will not always be alone; many are destined to pass through Circe's place of exile, entwining their fates with hers. The messenger god, Hermes. The craftsman, Daedalus. A ship bearing a golden fleece. And wily Odysseus, on his epic voyage home.

There is danger for a solitary woman in this world, and Circe's independence draws the wrath of men and gods alike. To protect what she holds dear, Circe must decide whether she belongs with the deities she is born from, or the mortals she has come to love.

Breathing life into the ancient world, Madeline Miller weaves an intoxicating tale of gods and heroes, magic and monsters, survival and transformation.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Asymmetry

€17.55

Lido The

€17.55
€15.99
A joyous novel about community, love, friendship and outdoor swimming. Perfect for fans of Joanna Cannon's The Trouble with Goats and Sheep and Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

Ordinary People

€17.55
€15.99
`Everyone, at some point in their lives, is faced with this window... Then one day it closes, and once it's closed it's closed forever.'Melissa has a new baby and doesn't want to let it change her. Michael is still in love with Melissa but can't quite get close enough to her to stay faithful.