You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
ISBN: 9781847088895
€11.15
A DUBRAY BOOKS RECOMMENDED READ A searing page turner from an exciting new literary voice. Katherine Faw Morris invades stylistic territory usually dominated by male writers - and demands attention.
Availability: Out of Stock
+ -
45 Points

Dubray Books review:

This debut novel is the kind of book you won’t forget in a hurry. Nikki is from North Carolina and, in the opening pages of the book, she watches her mom plunge to her death at the local swimming hole. Her dad is a notorious drug dealer and life for Nikki will never be the same again. To make matters worse, Nikki is only thirteen years old. Her life is full of tragedy, relentless hardship and an almost unremitting bleakness that is portrayed superbly in savagely sparse prose. Despite this desolation, the story is undeniably unforgettable and perfect for fans of Ron Rash or Daniel Woodrell. Gripping and gritty, this book is sure to get under your skin. It is brutal yet somehow beautiful and will leave you eagerly anticipating the second book by this talented young writer.
Tony O’Neill, Dubray Books Blackrock


Nikki has been thirteen forever. She drives a stolen car up the Carolina hills to her father's trailer with a backpack full of pills. She is determined to make her way into his life. Drug deals, pimp wars, chicken shit, ecstasy. Soon Nikki learns what's required of her to survive - and to prevail - - in this world. Young God introduces a debut novelist with a startling control of language. Scene by harrowing scene, with flashes of brilliant imagery and terse, tense dialogue, this book brings readers into the lost wilds of America. Just as Nikki fights her way into power among dangerous men, Katherine Faw Morris invades stylistic territory usually dominated by male writers - and demands attention.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

Dubray Books review:

This debut novel is the kind of book you won’t forget in a hurry. Nikki is from North Carolina and, in the opening pages of the book, she watches her mom plunge to her death at the local swimming hole. Her dad is a notorious drug dealer and life for Nikki will never be the same again. To make matters worse, Nikki is only thirteen years old. Her life is full of tragedy, relentless hardship and an almost unremitting bleakness that is portrayed superbly in savagely sparse prose. Despite this desolation, the story is undeniably unforgettable and perfect for fans of Ron Rash or Daniel Woodrell. Gripping and gritty, this book is sure to get under your skin. It is brutal yet somehow beautiful and will leave you eagerly anticipating the second book by this talented young writer.
Tony O’Neill, Dubray Books Blackrock


Nikki has been thirteen forever. She drives a stolen car up the Carolina hills to her father's trailer with a backpack full of pills. She is determined to make her way into his life. Drug deals, pimp wars, chicken shit, ecstasy. Soon Nikki learns what's required of her to survive - and to prevail - - in this world. Young God introduces a debut novelist with a startling control of language. Scene by harrowing scene, with flashes of brilliant imagery and terse, tense dialogue, this book brings readers into the lost wilds of America. Just as Nikki fights her way into power among dangerous men, Katherine Faw Morris invades stylistic territory usually dominated by male writers - and demands attention.