You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search

The Watchers

ISBN: 9781801102148
€11.99
€12.55
An Irish horror adventure set in the unknown forests of Galway, where humans are kept under observation by screaming creatures, from debut author A. M. Shine.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
48 Points

A spine-chilling Irish horror adventure set in the remote and sinister forests of Ireland, from debut Irish author A.M. Shine. 'A dark, claustrophobic read' T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grace

You can't see them. But they can see you. This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.

Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.

Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers and why are these creatures keeping them imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?

'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches, the constant hunger, the paranoia, the loss of hope, and far worse... A combination of supernatural and psychological horror, The Watchers will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith' A.E. Siraki, Booklist

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

A spine-chilling Irish horror adventure set in the remote and sinister forests of Ireland, from debut Irish author A.M. Shine. 'A dark, claustrophobic read' T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grace

You can't see them. But they can see you. This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.

Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.

Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers and why are these creatures keeping them imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?

'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches, the constant hunger, the paranoia, the loss of hope, and far worse... A combination of supernatural and psychological horror, The Watchers will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith' A.E. Siraki, Booklist

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Island

Availability: In Stock
The brand new unmissable thriller from the award-winning author of the instant New York Times bestseller The Chain.
€16.99 €18.15

French Braid

Availability: In Stock
The major new novel from the beloved prize-winning author -- a brilliantly perceptive, painfully true and funny journey deep into one family's foibles, from the 1950s right up to the changed world of today When the kids are grown and Mercy Garrett gradually moves herself out of the family home, everyone determines not to notice
€15.99 €19.55

Spies in Canaan

Availability: In Stock
A bold and unsettling parable about guilt, atonement and redemption from the winner of the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award
€14.99 €19.55

The Comfort Book

Availability: In Stock
The instant number one bestseller. Reflections on hope, survival and the messy miracle of being alive from the bestselling author of The Midnight Library
€13.95