Search

The Best Catholics in the World: The Irish, the Church and the End of a Special Relationship

ISBN: 9781844885268
€18.99
€22.95
A compelling account of why Ireland was so very Catholic for so long, why that changed - and what remains now that the special relationship has ended.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
76 Points

'At once intimate and epic, this is a landmark book' Fintan O'Toole

'A great achievement ... Brilliant, engaging and essential' Colm Tóibín


When Dubliner Derek Scally goes to Christmas Eve Mass on a visit home from Berlin, he finds more memories than congregants in the church where he was once an altar boy. Not for the first time, the collapse of the Catholic Church in Ireland brings to mind the fall of another powerful ideology - East German communism. While Germans are engaging earnestly with their past, Scally sees nothing comparable going on in his native land. So he embarks on a quest to unravel the tight hold the Church had on the Irish.

He travels the length and breadth of Ireland and across Europe, going to Masses, novenas, shrines and seminaries, talking to those who have abandoned the Church and those who have held on, to survivors and campaigners, to writers, historians, psychologists and many more. And he has probing and revealing encounters with Vatican officials, priests and religious along the way.

The Best Catholics in the World is the remarkable result of his three-year journey. With wit, wisdom and compassion Scally gives voice and definition to the murky and difficult questions that face a society coming to terms with its troubling past. It is both a lively personal odyssey and a resonant and gripping work of reporting that is a major contribution to the story of Ireland.


'A clear-headed account of a changing country and a provocative insight into a time that many would rather forget' John Boyne

'An engaging and incisive book that asks what keeping the faith cost us, how it shaped us and what it means now' Caelainn Hogan, author of Republic of Shame

'Offers some challenging end-of-an-era reflections on being Catholic in the scandal-ridden church of contemporary Ireland' Mary McAleese

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

'At once intimate and epic, this is a landmark book' Fintan O'Toole

'A great achievement ... Brilliant, engaging and essential' Colm Tóibín


When Dubliner Derek Scally goes to Christmas Eve Mass on a visit home from Berlin, he finds more memories than congregants in the church where he was once an altar boy. Not for the first time, the collapse of the Catholic Church in Ireland brings to mind the fall of another powerful ideology - East German communism. While Germans are engaging earnestly with their past, Scally sees nothing comparable going on in his native land. So he embarks on a quest to unravel the tight hold the Church had on the Irish.

He travels the length and breadth of Ireland and across Europe, going to Masses, novenas, shrines and seminaries, talking to those who have abandoned the Church and those who have held on, to survivors and campaigners, to writers, historians, psychologists and many more. And he has probing and revealing encounters with Vatican officials, priests and religious along the way.

The Best Catholics in the World is the remarkable result of his three-year journey. With wit, wisdom and compassion Scally gives voice and definition to the murky and difficult questions that face a society coming to terms with its troubling past. It is both a lively personal odyssey and a resonant and gripping work of reporting that is a major contribution to the story of Ireland.


'A clear-headed account of a changing country and a provocative insight into a time that many would rather forget' John Boyne

'An engaging and incisive book that asks what keeping the faith cost us, how it shaped us and what it means now' Caelainn Hogan, author of Republic of Shame

'Offers some challenging end-of-an-era reflections on being Catholic in the scandal-ridden church of contemporary Ireland' Mary McAleese

Customers who bought this item also bought

Nineteen Eighty-Four: 1984

Availability: Out of Stock
Nineteen Eighty-Four is George Orwell's profound dystopian novel that sets forth a surveillance state far ahead of its time, featuring an introduction by writer and journalist Dorian Lynskey.
€14.85

Mind Full: Unwreck your head, De-stress your life

Availability: In Stock
A no nonsense, incense-free, hilarious guide to relaxing the head, reducing anxiety and living a calmer life. A gentle introduction to mindfulness for the reluctant meditator.
€17.00

The Paris Library: a novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

Availability: In Stock
Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.
€15.99 €18.90

Champagne Football: John Delaney and the Betrayal of Irish Football: The Inside Story

Availability: In Stock
Winner of the An Post Irish Book Awards Sports Book of the Year... A shocking expose- the inside story behind the fall of the most powerful man in Irish sport.
€16.99 €20.25