Search

The Beauty of Impossible Things

ISBN: 9781786499417
€14.99
€17.55
A Dubray Recommended Read... A darkly beguiling story, threaded with fading seaside grandeur and simmering heat, by a Hennessy New Irish Writer award-winning author.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
60 Points

'This coming-of-age novel was captivating from beginning to end. Donohue draws you in with her sensory writing, allowing you to absorb the intense summer heat, taste the sea air and feel the fear of the unknown. Set in an Irish seaside town of fading grandeur which I visualised as Bray, this melancholic and haunting novel is perfect for fans of The Great Godden and The Narrow Land.' - Natalie, Dubray Head Office.

Foresight is not always a gift...

The summer Natasha Rothwell turns fifteen, strange dancing lights appear in the sky above her small town, lights that she interprets as portents of doom.

Natasha leads a sheltered life with her beautiful, bohemian mother in a crumbling house by the sea. As news of the lights spreads, more and more visitors arrive in the town, creating a feverish atmosphere of anticipation and dread. And the arrival of a new lodger, the handsome Mr Bowen, threatens to upset the delicate equilibrium between mother and daughter.

Then Natasha's fears seem to be realized when a local teenager goes missing, and she is called on to help. But her actions over that long, hot summer will have unforeseen and ultimately tragic consequences that will cast a shadow for many years to come...

Review: Haunting and compelling * Emma Rous *
Donohue is a master of clean, sharp prose * Irish Times on Rachel Donohue *
Donohue looks to be the latest name to join the ranks of Ireland's proud female thriller-writing tradition. * Irish Independent on Rachel Donhue *
Rachel Donohue is an enchanting writer * Sunday Business Post on Rachel Donhue *
This brooding tale of obsessive love, teenage jealousy and hidden desire has a dark charm * The i paper on The Temple House Vanishing *
With shades of everything from The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie and Frost in May to Picnic at Hanging Rock and The Secret History, this is subtle, intriguing and very well written. * Guardian on The Temple House Vanishing *

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

'This coming-of-age novel was captivating from beginning to end. Donohue draws you in with her sensory writing, allowing you to absorb the intense summer heat, taste the sea air and feel the fear of the unknown. Set in an Irish seaside town of fading grandeur which I visualised as Bray, this melancholic and haunting novel is perfect for fans of The Great Godden and The Narrow Land.' - Natalie, Dubray Head Office.

Foresight is not always a gift...

The summer Natasha Rothwell turns fifteen, strange dancing lights appear in the sky above her small town, lights that she interprets as portents of doom.

Natasha leads a sheltered life with her beautiful, bohemian mother in a crumbling house by the sea. As news of the lights spreads, more and more visitors arrive in the town, creating a feverish atmosphere of anticipation and dread. And the arrival of a new lodger, the handsome Mr Bowen, threatens to upset the delicate equilibrium between mother and daughter.

Then Natasha's fears seem to be realized when a local teenager goes missing, and she is called on to help. But her actions over that long, hot summer will have unforeseen and ultimately tragic consequences that will cast a shadow for many years to come...

Review: Haunting and compelling * Emma Rous *
Donohue is a master of clean, sharp prose * Irish Times on Rachel Donohue *
Donohue looks to be the latest name to join the ranks of Ireland's proud female thriller-writing tradition. * Irish Independent on Rachel Donhue *
Rachel Donohue is an enchanting writer * Sunday Business Post on Rachel Donhue *
This brooding tale of obsessive love, teenage jealousy and hidden desire has a dark charm * The i paper on The Temple House Vanishing *
With shades of everything from The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie and Frost in May to Picnic at Hanging Rock and The Secret History, this is subtle, intriguing and very well written. * Guardian on The Temple House Vanishing *

Customers who bought this item also bought

And Then There Were None

Availability: 10-12 Day Delivery
Agatha Christie's world-famous mystery thriller, reissued with a striking new cover designed to appeal to the latest generation of Agatha Christie fans and book lovers.
€12.15

Klara and the Sun

Availability: In Stock
From the bestselling and Booker Prize winning author of 'Never Let me Go' and 'The Remains of the Day', a stunning new novel - his first since winning the Nobel Prize in Literature - that asks, what does it mean to love?
€16.99 €20.25

Apeirogon: Longlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize

Availability: In Stock
€12.00 €12.15

The Lamplighters

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Recommended Read... Inspired by real events, The Lamplighters is an intoxicating and suspenseful mystery, an unforgettable story of love and grief that explores the way our fears blur the line between the real and the imagined.
€14.99 €18.90