Search

Putin's People: How the KGB Took Back Russia and then Turned On the West

ISBN: 9780007583034
€16.99
€20.30
The hacking of the 2016 US elections. The sponsorship of extremist politics in Europe. War in Ukraine. In recent years, Vladimir Putin's Russia has waged a concerted campaign to expand its influence and undermine Western institutions. But how and why did all this come about and who has orchestrated it?
Availability: In Stock
+ -
68 Points

The hacking of the 2016 US elections. The sponsorship of extremist politics in Europe. War in Ukraine. In recent years, Vladimir Putin's Russia has waged a concerted campaign to expand its influence and undermine Western institutions. But how and why did all this come about and who has orchestrated it?




This rigorous and revelatory book explains how this happened, Putin's rise to power, and how Russian black cash is subverting the world.



In Putin's People, former Moscow correspondent and investigative journalist Catherine Belton tells the untold story of the rise of Vladimir Putin and the small group of KGB men surrounding him. Delving deep into the workings of Putin's Kremlin, Belton accesses key inside players to reveal how Putin replaced the free-wheeling tycoons of the Yeltsin era with a new generation of loyal oligarchs, who in turn subverted their country's economy and legal system and expanded its influence in the West.


The result is a chilling and revelatory expose of the KGB's renaissance - a story that began long ago in the murk of the Soviet collapse when networks of operatives were able to siphon billions of dollars out of Russia and into the West. After Putin's takeover of the economy, some of these networks acquired new flows of cash to realise their goals. Based on many years of research, Belton charts the relentless seizure of private companies and the installation of those closest to Putin into the richest, highest seats of power.


Ranging from Moscow to London, Switzerland and Trump's America, and introducing a colourful cast of characters, Putin's People is a gripping and terrifying account of how hopes for the new Russia went astray, with stark consequences for its inhabitants and, increasingly, the world.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

The hacking of the 2016 US elections. The sponsorship of extremist politics in Europe. War in Ukraine. In recent years, Vladimir Putin's Russia has waged a concerted campaign to expand its influence and undermine Western institutions. But how and why did all this come about and who has orchestrated it?




This rigorous and revelatory book explains how this happened, Putin's rise to power, and how Russian black cash is subverting the world.



In Putin's People, former Moscow correspondent and investigative journalist Catherine Belton tells the untold story of the rise of Vladimir Putin and the small group of KGB men surrounding him. Delving deep into the workings of Putin's Kremlin, Belton accesses key inside players to reveal how Putin replaced the free-wheeling tycoons of the Yeltsin era with a new generation of loyal oligarchs, who in turn subverted their country's economy and legal system and expanded its influence in the West.


The result is a chilling and revelatory expose of the KGB's renaissance - a story that began long ago in the murk of the Soviet collapse when networks of operatives were able to siphon billions of dollars out of Russia and into the West. After Putin's takeover of the economy, some of these networks acquired new flows of cash to realise their goals. Based on many years of research, Belton charts the relentless seizure of private companies and the installation of those closest to Putin into the richest, highest seats of power.


Ranging from Moscow to London, Switzerland and Trump's America, and introducing a colourful cast of characters, Putin's People is a gripping and terrifying account of how hopes for the new Russia went astray, with stark consequences for its inhabitants and, increasingly, the world.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee: An Indian History of the American West

Availability: In Stock
Describes how the American Indians lost their land and lives to a dynamically expanding white society. This book described the opening of the West from the Indians' viewpoint. It focuses on a national disgrace.
€14.85

Rules of Civility

Availability: In Stock
For fans of Fitzgerald and Capote, a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938.
€12.15

The Birds of Ireland: A Field Guide

Availability: In Stock
The first photographic identification guide to the birds of Ireland in an easy, quick reference format. The key identification features of each bird are shown, with concise descriptions and pointers to indicate important features. This field guide is endorsed by BirdWatch Ireland, Ireland's leading bird conservation organisation.
€15.00

Everything I Never Told You

Availability: In Stock
Lydia is dead. But they don't know this yet. After sixteen-year-old Lydia goes missing and her body turns up in the lake, the police rule it as a suicide. But Lydia's family are determined to search for clues to find out what really happened...
€12.15