close
Facebook

Machines Like Me

Author: Ian McEwan
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 320
Pub Date: 16/04/2019
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9781787331679
Availability: In Stock
Quick overview A Dubray Staff Recommended Read Britain has lost the Falklands war, Margaret Thatcher battles Tony Benn for power and Alan Turing achieves a breakthrough in artificial intelligence. Charlie, drifting through life and dodging full-time employment, is in love with Miranda, a bright student who lives with a terrible secret.
€18.95
€15.99
Product description

With motifs pilfered from sci-fi paperbacks and familiar tropes plucked from Asimov and Bradbury, what might have been a magpie’s nest of a novel, brimming with borrowed dazzle, is instead a masterclass in speculative fiction. McEwan presents a peculiar love triangle, between Charlie and Miranda (intelligent, urbane denizens of a fabulated 1980s London), and Adam, their android companion. With humour and irreverence, McEwan crafts a unique, timely novel that asks all-too-relevant questions about the moral obligations of both the individual and the state.

- Recommended by Leon Hickey, Dubray Galway

Britain has lost the Falklands war, Margaret Thatcher battles Tony Benn for power and Alan Turing achieves a breakthrough in artificial intelligence. In a world not quite like this one, two lovers will be tested beyond their understanding.

Machines Like Me occurs in an alternative 1980s London. Charlie, drifting through life and dodging full-time employment, is in love with Miranda, a bright student who lives with a terrible secret. When Charlie comes into money, he buys Adam, one of the first batch of synthetic humans. With Miranda's assistance, he co-designs Adam's personality. This near-perfect human is beautiful, strong and clever - a love triangle soon forms. These three beings will confront a profound moral dilemma. Ian McEwan's subversive and entertaining new novel poses fundamental questions: what makes us human? Our outward deeds or our inner lives? Could a machine understand the human heart? This provocative and thrilling tale warns of the power to invent things beyond our control.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Queenie

€17.55
€14.99
A darkly comic and unflinchingly raw depiction of a young woman trying to navigate her way in the world, QUEENIE is about identity, independence and carving your own path. For fans of Dolly Alderton, Bryony Gordon and Dawn O'Porter, and anyone who loved Fleabag and Dear White People.

Untitled

€23.00
€19.99

Foe

€14.85
€12.99
A taut, philosophical, haunting puzzle of a novel by the acclaimed author of I'm Thinking of Ending Things