close
Facebook

Last Ones Left Alive (Hardback)

Binding: Hardback
Pages: 288
Pub Date: 07/03/2019
ISBN: 9781472255204
Quick overview A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. For fans of THE END WE START FROM and STATION 11, a brilliantly original imagining of a young woman's journey to discover her true identity, set in a post-apocalyptic Ireland
€17.55
€14.99
Product description

Orpen has lived a sheltered life, protected and trained by her Mam and her friend Maeve on a small island off Ireland’s coast. Now Mam is gone, Maeve has been infected by the deadly ‘skrake’, and Orpen has to brave the dangerous mainland in a desperate search for civilisation and a cure. This nail-biting horror is a fantastic addition to the dystopian fiction canon, perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood and M.R. Carey. Leave the lights on and don’t forget your Just-In-Cases!

- Recommended by Anita Power, Dubray Kilkenny

'Bleakly beautiful. A raw emotional depth-charge of a novel' MR Carey
'Gripped me as much by the heart as it did by the throat' Kiran Millwood Hargrave

LAST ONES LEFT ALIVE is the unputdownable debut novel from Sarah Davis-Goff, sure to grip readers of dystopian literary fiction such as STATION 11 or THE END WE START FROM.

Remember your Just-In-Cases. Beware Tall Buildings. Watch Your Six

Raised by her mother and Maeve on Slanbeg, an island off the west coast of Ireland, Orpen has a childhood of love and stories by the fireside. But the stories grow darker, and the training begins. Ireland has been devoured by a ravening menace known as the skrake, and though Slanbeg is safe for now, the women must always be ready to run, or to fight.

When Maeve is bitten, Orpen is faced with a dilemma: kill Maeve before her transformation is complete, or try to get help. So Orpen sets off, with Maeve in a wheelbarrow and her dog at her side, in the hope of finding other survivors, and a cure. It is a journey that will test Orpen to her limits, on which she will learn who she really is, who she really loves, and how to imagine a future in a world that ended before she was born.

Additional information