Search

In Cold Blood: A True Account of a Multiple Murder and Its Consequences

ISBN: 9780241956830
€12.15
On 15 November 1959, the small town of Holcomb, Kansas, a wealthy farmer, his wife and their two young children were found brutally murdered. Blood all over the walls, the telephone lines cut, and only a few dollars stolen. Heading up the investigation is Agent Al Dewey, but all he has are two footprints, four bodies, and a whole lot of questions.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
49 Points

In "Cold Blood: A True Account of a Multiple Murder and its Consequences" is considered by many to be the first work of the true crime genre. In this groundbreaking book, Truman Capote reconstructs the murder of the Clutter family from information provided by newspaper articles and interviews. 'Dick became convinced that Perry was that rarity, "a natural killer" - absolutely sane, but conscienceless, and capable of dealing, with or without motive, the coldest-blooded deathblows'. On 15 November 1959, the small town of Holcomb, Kansas, a wealthy farmer, his wife and their two young children were found brutally murdered. Blood all over the walls, the telephone lines cut, and only a few dollars stolen. Heading up the investigation is Agent Al Dewey, but all he has are two footprints, four bodies, and a whole lot of questions. Truman Capote's detailed reconstruction of the events and consequences of that fateful night, "In Cold Blood" is a chilling, gripping mix of journalistic skill and imaginative power. "The American dream turning into the American nightmare. A remarkable book". ("Spectator"). "One of the most stupendous books of the decade". ("Sunday Express").
Truman Capote was one of the most significant American authors of the twentieth century, known for his highly acclaimed books, including: "Breakfast at Tiffany's", "A Tree of Night and Other Stories" and "The Grass Harp". In "Cold Blood" and "Breakfast at Tiffany's" have been selected for the "Penguin Essentials" series of books considered some of the twentieth century's most important reads.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

In "Cold Blood: A True Account of a Multiple Murder and its Consequences" is considered by many to be the first work of the true crime genre. In this groundbreaking book, Truman Capote reconstructs the murder of the Clutter family from information provided by newspaper articles and interviews. 'Dick became convinced that Perry was that rarity, "a natural killer" - absolutely sane, but conscienceless, and capable of dealing, with or without motive, the coldest-blooded deathblows'. On 15 November 1959, the small town of Holcomb, Kansas, a wealthy farmer, his wife and their two young children were found brutally murdered. Blood all over the walls, the telephone lines cut, and only a few dollars stolen. Heading up the investigation is Agent Al Dewey, but all he has are two footprints, four bodies, and a whole lot of questions. Truman Capote's detailed reconstruction of the events and consequences of that fateful night, "In Cold Blood" is a chilling, gripping mix of journalistic skill and imaginative power. "The American dream turning into the American nightmare. A remarkable book". ("Spectator"). "One of the most stupendous books of the decade". ("Sunday Express").
Truman Capote was one of the most significant American authors of the twentieth century, known for his highly acclaimed books, including: "Breakfast at Tiffany's", "A Tree of Night and Other Stories" and "The Grass Harp". In "Cold Blood" and "Breakfast at Tiffany's" have been selected for the "Penguin Essentials" series of books considered some of the twentieth century's most important reads.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Six of Crows

Availability: In Stock
Game of Thrones meets Ocean's Eleven in this fantasy epic from the number 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING, Leigh Bardugo.
€12.15

Truly Devious

Availability: In Stock
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E.
€10.80

Daisy Jones and The Six

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. THE SUNDAY TIMES AND NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER'I LOVE it . It's also a call-to-arms that when you find your niche, don't doubt, embrace it.' EMERALD STREET'The verdict: Daisy Jones steals the limelight... A zeitgeist book for 2019' STYLIST'Well observed, sensitively told .
€12.15

The Temple House Vanishing

Availability: Out of Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. A stunning mystery and a searing portrait of power, jealousy and desire from one of Ireland's most exciting new voices. An extraordinary debut with huge bestseller potential.
€17.55