You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search

French Braid

ISBN: 9781784744632
€15.99
€19.55
The major new novel from the beloved prize-winning author -- a brilliantly perceptive, painfully true and funny journey deep into one family's foibles, from the 1950s right up to the changed world of today When the kids are grown and Mercy Garrett gradually moves herself out of the family home, everyone determines not to notice
Availability: In Stock
+ -
64 Points

The major new novel from the beloved prize-winning author -- a brilliantly perceptive, painfully true and funny journey deep into one family's foibles, from the 1950s right up to the changed world of today

When the kids are grown and Mercy Garrett gradually moves herself out of the family home, everyone determines not to notice.

Over at her studio, she wants space and silence. She won't allow any family clutter. Not even their cat, Desmond.

Yet it is a clutter of untidy moments that forms the Garretts' family life over the decades, whether that's giving a child a ride or a painstaking Easter lunch, a fateful train journey or an unexpected homecoming.

And it all begins in 1959, with a family holiday to a cabin by a lake. It's the only one the Garretts will ever take, but its effects will ripple through the generations.

'If Anne Tyler isn't the best writer in the world, who is?' BBC RADIO 4 WOMAN'S HOUR

'She is and always will be my favourite author' LIANE MORIARTY

'Tyler writes with an apparent effortlessness which conceals great art' HELEN DUNMORE

'My favourite author . . . She writes such absorbing, wise, tender books, devastatingly acute about human nature . . . She never fails' JACQUELINE WILSON

'Tyler's sentences are wholly hers, instantly recognisable and impossible to duplicate' HANYA YANIGIHARA

'Anne Tyler really is the best . . . her sheer brilliance makes it all seem so effortless' GRAHAM NORTON

'One of my favourite writers' ALI SMITH

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

The major new novel from the beloved prize-winning author -- a brilliantly perceptive, painfully true and funny journey deep into one family's foibles, from the 1950s right up to the changed world of today

When the kids are grown and Mercy Garrett gradually moves herself out of the family home, everyone determines not to notice.

Over at her studio, she wants space and silence. She won't allow any family clutter. Not even their cat, Desmond.

Yet it is a clutter of untidy moments that forms the Garretts' family life over the decades, whether that's giving a child a ride or a painstaking Easter lunch, a fateful train journey or an unexpected homecoming.

And it all begins in 1959, with a family holiday to a cabin by a lake. It's the only one the Garretts will ever take, but its effects will ripple through the generations.

'If Anne Tyler isn't the best writer in the world, who is?' BBC RADIO 4 WOMAN'S HOUR

'She is and always will be my favourite author' LIANE MORIARTY

'Tyler writes with an apparent effortlessness which conceals great art' HELEN DUNMORE

'My favourite author . . . She writes such absorbing, wise, tender books, devastatingly acute about human nature . . . She never fails' JACQUELINE WILSON

'Tyler's sentences are wholly hers, instantly recognisable and impossible to duplicate' HANYA YANIGIHARA

'Anne Tyler really is the best . . . her sheer brilliance makes it all seem so effortless' GRAHAM NORTON

'One of my favourite writers' ALI SMITH

Customers who bought this item also bought

Lessons in Chemistry

Availability: In Stock
Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing.
€13.99 €17.80

The Interview

Availability: In Stock
A girl covered in blood. A missing man. A coded fairy tale.
€14.99 €19.55

Heartstopper Volume One

Availability: In Stock
Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between - for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.
€12.99 €15.35

Birdsong

Availability: In Stock
Stephen Wraysford, a young Englishman, arrives in Amiens in northern France in 1910 to stay with the Azaire family, and falls in love with unhappily married Isabelle. But, with the world on the brink of war, the relationship falters, and Stephen volunteers to fight on the Western Front.
€13.95