close
Facebook

Constellations: Reflections from Life

Binding: Paperback
Pages: 304
Pub Date: 04/04/2019
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509892754
Availability: In Stock
Quick overview A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. In this powerful and daring memoir in essays Sinead Gleeson delves into a range of subjects: art, illness, ghosts, grief and our very ways of seeing.
€20.30
€14.99
Product description

In this collection of biographical essays, Sinead Gleeson writes with insight on pain, grief, the body, love lost and found, the joy of family, and the solace of art. The prose is tender, passionate and searingly honest; it feels as though the tangle of emotions usually impossible to articulate have been pinned to the page with devastating accuracy. We are living in a golden age of Irish writing, and Constellations is undoubtedly one of the jewels in this crown.

- Recommended by: Karina Clifford, Dubray Stillorgan

'I have come to think of all the metal in my body as artificial stars, glistening beneath the skin, a constellation of old and new metal. A map, a tracing of connections and a guide to looking at things from different angles.'

How do you tell the story of life that is no one thing? How do you tell the story of a life in a body, as it goes through sickness, health, motherhood? And how do you tell that story when you are not just a woman but a woman in Ireland? In this powerful and daring memoir in essays Sinead Gleeson does that very thing. In doing so she delves into a range of subjects: art, illness, ghosts, grief and our very ways of seeing.

In writing that is in tradition of some of our finest writers such as Olivia Laing, Maggie O'Farrell, Robert Macfarlane, Rebecca Solnit and Maggie Nelson, and yet still in her own spirited, warm voice, Sinead takes on journey that is both personal and yet universal in its resonance.

Author Biography: Sinead Gleeson is a writer of essays, criticism and fiction. Her writing has appeared in Granta, Winter Papers and Gorse, and a story of hers will appear in Being Various: New Irish Short Stories published by Faber in May 2018. She is the editor of three short story anthologies, including The Long Gaze Back: an Anthology of Irish Women Writers and The Glass Shore: Short Stories by Women Writers from the North of Ireland, both of which won Best Irish Published Book at the Irish Book Awards. Sinead has worked as an arts critic and broadcaster and has presented The Book Show on RTE Radio 1.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Twisted Doodles - The Newborn Identity

€17.55
€14.99
Meeting a baby is like meeting someone from the internet: you got used to calling them by a weird nickname and now you need to call them by their real name; Interspersing her words with brilliant cartoons, she delivers a marvellously entertaining snapshot of life as a modern-day parent.

Stars are Fire

€12.15
Anita Shreve's brilliant new novel - for fans of Anne Tyler and Maggie O'Farrell.

Spill Simmer Falter Wither

€12.15
A misfit man finds a misfit dog. Ray, aged fifty-seven, 'too old for starting over, too young for giving up', and One Eye, a vicious little bugger, smaller than expected, a good ratter. Both are accustomed to being alone, unloved, outcast - but they quickly find in each other a strange companionship of sorts.