Search

Constellations: Reflections From Life

ISBN: 9781509892778
€12.95
An extraordinarily intimate book of essays that chart the experiences that have made Sinead Gleeson the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of The Last Act of Love and I Am, I Am, I Am.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
52 Points

Winner of non-fiction book of the year at the Irish Book Awards

'Utterly magnificent. Raw, thought-provoking and galvanising; this is a book every woman should read.' Eimear McBride, author of A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing

I have come to think of all the metal in my body as artificial stars, glistening beneath the skin, a constellation of old and new metal. A map, a tracing of connections and a guide to looking at things from different angles.

How do you tell the story of a life in a body, as it goes through sickness, health, motherhood? How do you tell that story when you are not just a woman but a woman in Ireland? In the powerful and daring essays in Constellations Sinead Gleeson does that very thing. All of life is within these pages, from birth to first love, pregnancy to motherhood, terrifying sickness, old age and loss to death itself. Throughout this wide-ranging collection she also turns her restless eye outwards delving into work, art and our very ways of seeing. In the tradition of some of our finest life writers, and yet still in her own spirited, generous voice, Sinead takes us on a journey that is both uniquely personal and yet universal in its resonance. Here is the fierce joy and pain of being alive.

'Breathtaking and sublime.' Nina Stibbe

'Absolutely extraordinary and life-enhancing.' Daisy Buchanan, author of How to be Grown-up

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

Winner of non-fiction book of the year at the Irish Book Awards

'Utterly magnificent. Raw, thought-provoking and galvanising; this is a book every woman should read.' Eimear McBride, author of A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing

I have come to think of all the metal in my body as artificial stars, glistening beneath the skin, a constellation of old and new metal. A map, a tracing of connections and a guide to looking at things from different angles.

How do you tell the story of a life in a body, as it goes through sickness, health, motherhood? How do you tell that story when you are not just a woman but a woman in Ireland? In the powerful and daring essays in Constellations Sinead Gleeson does that very thing. All of life is within these pages, from birth to first love, pregnancy to motherhood, terrifying sickness, old age and loss to death itself. Throughout this wide-ranging collection she also turns her restless eye outwards delving into work, art and our very ways of seeing. In the tradition of some of our finest life writers, and yet still in her own spirited, generous voice, Sinead takes us on a journey that is both uniquely personal and yet universal in its resonance. Here is the fierce joy and pain of being alive.

'Breathtaking and sublime.' Nina Stibbe

'Absolutely extraordinary and life-enhancing.' Daisy Buchanan, author of How to be Grown-up

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Fire Starters

Availability: In Stock
**WINNER of the EU Prize for Literature** 'One of the most exciting and original Northern Irish writers of her generation' SUNDAY TIMES 'Gripping, affecting, surprising.
€12.15

Our Little Cruelties

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... Three brothers are at the funeral. One lies in the coffin. Will, Brian and Luke grow up competing for their mother's unequal love. As men, the competition continues - for status, money, fame, women ... They each betray each other, over and over, until one of them is dead. But which brother killed him?
€14.99 €18.95

Where the Crawdads Sing

Availability: In Stock
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.
€12.00 €12.15

American Dirt

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. AMERICAN DIRT is the most heartstopping story of a mother and son on the run since Emma Donoghue's ROOM, a novel that brings an unforgettably human face to the story of the Mexico/US Border.
€16.99 €20.30