You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search

Chums: How a Tiny Caste of Oxford Tories Took Over the UK

ISBN: 9781788167383
€20.99
€23.75
Power. Privilege. Parties. It's a very small world at the top. A TIMES AND SUNDAY TIMES BEST BOOK OF 2022
Availability: In Stock
+ -
84 Points

A searing onslaught on the smirking Oxford insinuation that politics is all just a game. It isn't. It matters' Matthew Parris

Boris Johnson, Michael Gove, David Cameron, George Osborne, Theresa May, Dominic Cummings, Daniel Hannan, Jacob Rees-Mogg: Whitehall is swarming with old Oxonians. They debated each other in tutorials, ran against each other in student elections, and attended the same balls and black tie dinners. They aren't just colleagues - they are peers, rivals, friends. And, when they walked out of the world of student debates onto the national stage, they brought their university politics with them.

Eleven of the fifteen postwar British prime ministers went to Oxford. In Chums, Simon Kuper traces how the rarefied and privileged atmosphere of this narrowest of talent pools - and the friendships and worldviews it created - shaped modern Britain.

This is a searing critique of the British ruling class and its 'chumocracy' by the smartest commentator in journalism today.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

A searing onslaught on the smirking Oxford insinuation that politics is all just a game. It isn't. It matters' Matthew Parris

Boris Johnson, Michael Gove, David Cameron, George Osborne, Theresa May, Dominic Cummings, Daniel Hannan, Jacob Rees-Mogg: Whitehall is swarming with old Oxonians. They debated each other in tutorials, ran against each other in student elections, and attended the same balls and black tie dinners. They aren't just colleagues - they are peers, rivals, friends. And, when they walked out of the world of student debates onto the national stage, they brought their university politics with them.

Eleven of the fifteen postwar British prime ministers went to Oxford. In Chums, Simon Kuper traces how the rarefied and privileged atmosphere of this narrowest of talent pools - and the friendships and worldviews it created - shaped modern Britain.

This is a searing critique of the British ruling class and its 'chumocracy' by the smartest commentator in journalism today.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Book 1)

Availability: In Stock
This was Mom's idea, not mine. But if she thinks I'm going to write down my "feelings" in here or whatever, she's crazy. The only reason I agreed to do this at all is because I figure later on when I'm rich and famous, this book is gonna come in handy. But for now I'm stuck with a bunch of morons.
€9.80

Autumn

Availability: In Stock
€12.55

The House on Vesper Sands

Availability: In Stock
For fans of The Essex Serpent and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock - a 'tremendously good' (Observer) story of cops and columnists, wickedness and love, snow and Spiriters in Victorian London.
€13.95

Daisy and the Trouble With Unicorns

Availability: In Stock
The BRAND NEW laugh-out-loud Daisy adventure for readers of 6-9, from bestselling author of the Oi Frog series, Kes Gray.
€9.80