You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search

Before & Laughter, A Life-Changing Book

ISBN: 9781529413083
€16.99
€20.25
Self-help meets memoir in this deeply insightful, fascinating and entertaining book about happiness by one of the country's most treasured comedians.
Availability: In Stock
+ -
68 Points

*A memoir and self-help manual by one of the country's most treasured comedians - for anyone who feels stuck in a rut but doesn't have the tools or self-belief to shake things up*

In his mid-twenties, Jimmy was bored, boring, unfulfilled and underachieving. He wasn't exactly depressed, but he was very sad. Think of a baby owl whose mum has recently died in a windmill accident. He was that sad. This book tells the story of how Jimmy turned it around and got happy, through the redemptive power of dick jokes.

Written to take advantage of the brief window between the end of lockdown and Jimmy getting cancelled for saying something unforgivable to Lorraine Kelly, this book is as timely as it is unnecessary.

Because you might be interested in Jimmy's life but he's damn sure you're a lot more interested in your own, Before & Laughter is about both of you. But mainly him. It tells the story of Jimmy's life - the transformation from white-collar corporate drone to fake-toothed donkey-laugh plastic-haired comedy mannequin - while also explaining how to turn your own life around and become the you you've always dreamt of being. At just GBP20, it's cheaper than Scientology, quicker than therapy, and significantly less boring than church.

Before & Laughter contains the answers to all the big questions in life, questions like:
* What's the secret to happiness?
* Is Jimmy wearing a wig?
* What happened with that tax thing?
* What's the meaning of life?
* Is Jimmy's laugh real?
* Can those teeth bite through vibranium?

And for readers in the West Country: yes, there are pictures (actually, sorry, there are no pictures, but there's a book about a hungry caterpillar you'll love).

Because it's Jimmy Carr - recently scientifically proved to be the funniest comedian in the UK - there are jokes, jokes and more jokes throughout. If laughter really was the best medicine, the NHS would be handing out this book in Nightingale Hospitals.

Fascinating, thoughtful and insightful - are all words that appear in the book.

Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Description

*A memoir and self-help manual by one of the country's most treasured comedians - for anyone who feels stuck in a rut but doesn't have the tools or self-belief to shake things up*

In his mid-twenties, Jimmy was bored, boring, unfulfilled and underachieving. He wasn't exactly depressed, but he was very sad. Think of a baby owl whose mum has recently died in a windmill accident. He was that sad. This book tells the story of how Jimmy turned it around and got happy, through the redemptive power of dick jokes.

Written to take advantage of the brief window between the end of lockdown and Jimmy getting cancelled for saying something unforgivable to Lorraine Kelly, this book is as timely as it is unnecessary.

Because you might be interested in Jimmy's life but he's damn sure you're a lot more interested in your own, Before & Laughter is about both of you. But mainly him. It tells the story of Jimmy's life - the transformation from white-collar corporate drone to fake-toothed donkey-laugh plastic-haired comedy mannequin - while also explaining how to turn your own life around and become the you you've always dreamt of being. At just GBP20, it's cheaper than Scientology, quicker than therapy, and significantly less boring than church.

Before & Laughter contains the answers to all the big questions in life, questions like:
* What's the secret to happiness?
* Is Jimmy wearing a wig?
* What happened with that tax thing?
* What's the meaning of life?
* Is Jimmy's laugh real?
* Can those teeth bite through vibranium?

And for readers in the West Country: yes, there are pictures (actually, sorry, there are no pictures, but there's a book about a hungry caterpillar you'll love).

Because it's Jimmy Carr - recently scientifically proved to be the funniest comedian in the UK - there are jokes, jokes and more jokes throughout. If laughter really was the best medicine, the NHS would be handing out this book in Nightingale Hospitals.

Fascinating, thoughtful and insightful - are all words that appear in the book.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Aldrin Adams and the Cheese Nightmares

Availability: In Stock
A Dubray Favourite... A brilliantly funny, heart-warming adventure about a boy with the world's most unusual and stinky super-power! Perfect for fans of David Baddiel and Sam Copeland.
€15.05

Crime and Punishment

Availability: In Stock
Raskolnikov, a destitute and desperate former student, wanders through the slums of St Petersburg and commits a random murder without remorse or regret. He imagines himself to be a great man, a Napoleon: acting for a higher purpose beyond conventional moral law.
€11.15

Bounce: The Myth of Talent and the Power of Practice

Availability: In Stock
Essential reading following an astounding summer of sport; if you've ever wondered what makes a champion, Bounce has the answer.
€13.95

Harry Potter Colouring Book

Availability: 10-12 Day Delivery
With almost one hundred pages of artwork featuring beloved characters, settings, and memorable scenes from the film franchise, this book is a must-have for fans of the series and those who appreciate the creative design of the films.
€13.95