Skip to content

Vasquez Wins IMPAC

Colombian writer Juan Gabriel Vasquez has won the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award for his novel The Sound of Things Falling. Simultaneously a taut thriller and an examination of the murky history of Vasquez' home country, The Sound of Things Falling is his third novel to be published in English.


The shortlist included two Irish writers, Donal Ryan for The Spinning Heart, and David Park for The Light of Amsterdam.

  • The Spinning Heart 3 for 2 item

    The Spinning Heart
    Donal Ryan

    Paperback · 19 Dec 2013 · €11.35

    In the aftermath of Ireland's financial collapse, dangerous tensions surface in an Irish town. As violence flares, the characters face a battle between public persona and inner desires. This book captures the language and spirit of rural Ireland and with uncanny perception articulates the words and thoughts of a generation.

  • Questions of Travel

    Questions of Travel
    Michelle de Kretser

    Paperback · 02 Jan 2014 · €12.80

    A novel of dazzling virtuosity and luminous intelligence that explores our urge to leave home, by a writer previously longlisted for both the Man Booker and Orange prizes whose prose can only be described as 'rich, luxuriant, intense, and gorgeous.' (Anita Desai)

  • Absolution

    Patrick Flanery

    Paperback · 01 Mar 2013 · €11.35

    Patrick Flanery is an exceptionally gifted novelist, and he is just getting started' Philip Gourevitch, New Yorker Following the critical acclaim for this muscular debut novel, Flanery has confirmed himself, quite simply, as a literary star.

  • The Detour 3 for 2 item

    The Detour
    Gerbrand Bakker

    Paperback · 07 Mar 2013 · €11.35

    A Dutch woman rents a remote farm in rural Wales. She says her name is Emilie. She has left her husband, having confessed to an affair. In Amsterdam, her stunned husband forms a strange partnership with a detective who agrees to help him trace her. They board the ferry to Hull on Christmas Eve.

  • A Death in the Family

    A Death in the Family
    Karl Ove Knausgaard

    Paperback · 07 Mar 2013 · €12.80

    First of the six books in the My Struggle cycle, this title is about the author's childhood and teenage years, his infatuation with rock music, his relationship with his loving yet almost invisible mother and his distant and unpredictable father, and his bewilderment and grief on his father's death.

  • The Garden of Evening Mists 3 for 2 item

    The Garden of Evening Mists
    Tan Twan Eng

    Paperback · 02 May 2013 · €12.80

    In the highlands of Malaya, a woman sets out to build a memorial to her sister, killed at the hands of the Japanese during the brutal Occupation of their country. Yun Ling's quest leads her to The Garden of Evening Mists, and to Aritomo, a man of extraordinary skill and reputation, once the gardener of the Emperor of Japan.