close

A Moment of Truth

Here is our selection of favourite new non-fiction carefully selected for you. The range includes inspirational thinkers, bold women, political outsiders and seasoned storytellers, all proving that truth is stranger than fiction...

 

Prisoners of Geography

Paperback, 02/06/2016, €12.95
A popular take on world events that puts the 'geo' back into geopolitics

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind

Paperback, 30/04/2015, €12.95
Planet Earth is 4.5 billion years old. In just a fraction of that time, one species among countless others has conquered it. Us. We are the most advanced and most destructive animals ever to have lived. What makes us brilliant? What makes us deadly?

The Hidden Life of Trees

Paperback, 24/08/2017, €12.95
How do trees live? Do they feel pain, or have awareness of their surroundings? Research is now suggesting trees are capable of much more than we have ever known. In The Hidden Life of Trees, forester Peter Wohlleben puts groundbreaking scientific discoveries into a language everyone can relate to.

Dictatorland

Paperback, 11/01/2018, €20.30
€18.00
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... A vivid, heartbreaking portrait of the fate that so many African countries suffered after independence.

When Breath Becomes Air

Paperback, 03/01/2017, €12.15
€12.00
At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live. This book tells his story.

The Moth: This is a True Story

Paperback, 12/03/2015, €12.95
Before television and radio, before penny paperbacks and mass literacy, people would gather on porches, on the steps outside their homes, and tell stories. The storytellers knew their craft and bewitched listeners would sit and listen long into the night as moths flitted around overhead.

Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow

Paperback, 23/03/2017, €12.95
Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going. This book explores the projects, dreams and nightmares that will shape the twenty-first century - from overcoming death to creating artificial life. It asks questions: Where do we go from here? And how will we protect this fragile world from our own destructive powers?

Red Notice: How I Became Putin's No. 1 Enemy

Paperback, 01/12/2015, €12.15
€12.00
DUBRAY RECOMMENDED READ. Magnitsky's brutal killing has remained uninvestigated and unpunished to this day. His farcical posthumous show-trial brought Putin's regime to a new low in the eyes of the international community.

Seven Brief Lessons on Physics

Paperback, 30/06/2016, €9.45
Presents what you need to know about modern physics, the universe and our place in the world in seven lessons. In this introduction to modern physics, the author explains Einstein's theory of general relativity, quantum mechanics, black holes, the complex architecture of the universe, elementary particles, gravity, and the nature of the mind.

Hillbilly Elegy

Paperback, 01/06/2017, €12.95
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read. 'THE POLITICAL BOOK OF THE YEAR' Sunday Times 'You will not read a more important book about America this year' Economist 'The best book about the alienation within America' Evening Standard 'The memoir gripping America... Vividly articulates the despair and disillusionment of blue-collar America' Sunday Times

Histories of Nations

Paperback, 02/02/2017, €12.95
The countries have been selected to represent every continent and every type of state, large and small, and together they make up two-thirds of the world's population. This book is about the modern age.

A Little History of the World

Paperback, 19/08/2008, €12.95
In 1935, with a doctorate in art history and no prospect of a job, the 26-year-old Ernst Gombrich was invited to attempt a history of the world for younger readers. Amazingly, he completed the task in six weeks, and "Eine kurze Weltgeschichte fur junge Leser" was published in Vienna. This book presents his history to English-language readers.

Pour Me: A Life

Paperback, 17/11/2016, €12.15
€12.00
A. A. Gill's compulsive memoir of the days lost to addiction.

The Silk Roads

Paperback, 01/06/2016, €14.30
€14.00

East West Street

Paperback, 31/03/2017, €12.95
A uniquely personal exploration of the origins of international law, centring on the Nuremberg Trials, the city of Lviv and a secret family history

It's Not Yet Dark

Paperback, 08/01/2015, €10.40
'A story of courage, heart, of coming back for more, of love and struggle and the power of both' Joseph O'Connor

Reality is Not What it Seems

Paperback, 01/06/2017, €12.95

Supreme Court

Paperback, 04/05/2017, €12.95

Adversary

Paperback, 06/07/2017, €11.70
Acclaimed master of psychological suspense, Emmanuel Carrere, whose fiction John Updike described as 'stunning' (New Yorker) explores the double life of a respectable doctor, eighteen years of lies, five murders, and the extremes to which ordinary people can go.

Mindhunter

Paperback, 16/10/2017, €12.15
€12.00
THE BESTSELLING TRUE STORY THAT INSPIRED THE MAJOR NETFLIX SERIESFBI Special Agent and expert in criminal profiling and behavioural science, John Douglas, is a man who has looked evil in the eye and made a vocation of understanding it.

Ireland: The Autobiography

Paperback, 04/05/2017, €12.95

The Origins of the Irish

Paperback, 13/07/2017, €12.95

A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived: The Stories in Our Genes

Paperback, 07/09/2017, €12.95
A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... A dazzling tour of the latest genetic discoveries which are blurring the boundaries between science and history - 'Brilliant, authoritative, surprising, captivating' BRIAN COX

I Read the News Today, Oh Boy

Paperback, 30/05/2017, €12.95

Global Discontents

Hardback, 27/10/2017, €17.55
€16.00

Janesville

Paperback, 08/02/2018, €12.95

Field Guide to Lies and Statistics

Paperback, 31/07/2017, €12.95

Twelve Apostles

Paperback, 01/06/2017, €12.00
The story of the assassination squad that changed the course of Irish history.

In the Days of Rain

Paperback, 22/01/2018, €12.95
In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult.

The Almighty Dollar: Follow the Incredible Journey of a Single Dollar to See How the Global Economy Really Works

Paperback, 22/02/2018, €20.30
€18.00
An incisive new take on popular economics: follow a dollar on its journey around the world

Skin in the Game

Paperback, 26/02/2018, €20.30
€18.00

The Rise of the Outsiders: How Mainstream Politics Lost its Way

Paperback, 03/05/2018, €12.95
Discover why outsiders from Trump to Macron to Corbyn have risen to prominence